Andrew Swaffer's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 29 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Andrew’s full profile.

Overview

  • 166 references 130 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 55, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Book publisher
  • Up to degree level
  • From Hastings, England, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION Be happy, make others happy ABOUT ME Non-stressy, easy to be around (I hope!). Like a glass of red, a stretch on the couch and a bloody good book. It'll make my day if I can make yours. An atheist, I am genuinely uplifted by a crisp blue sky or a starlit night, a perfectly cooked baked spud or a McVities choc digestive, another viewing of Star Wars or starting a new book that I know is going to be just brilliant, a sweetly struck backhand or a strong gust throwing the boat over. We're not here for any purpose, there is no fate. But we're here, and it's bloody great. NOTES: Minimum 3 nights. AVAILABILITY: I am currently accommodating 3 'refugees' from Covid. Please only contact in case of emergency. PROCESS: If I say I can take you then I will expect you to confirm within 24 hours or I will cancel the invitation. I am saying this because a) I get a large number of requests and b) people are increasingly taking longer and longer to decide to confirm - sometimes they never do. This is not only very rude but it is also very unfair to your fellow couchsurfers: once someone has requested dates that are available I block those dates out so I don't double-book. So if you sit on an invitation (especially if you don't then confirm) you are denying others the opportunity of accommodation. ARE YOU READING THIS?: I'm starting to get quite a few requests from people who obviously haven't read my profile. If you send me a request please at some point use the word "Sunny". HOW LONG: Minimum 3 nights - I don't see much point in shorter stays, there are hotels and hostels for that. CAMPERVANS: I live in an apartment in the commercial centre of Dee Why suburb: I have no garden and there is no opportunity for "parking outside and just using the bathroom/kitchen".

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have hosted off and on for over 12 years and am now in the position where I mix hosting surfers with hosting airbnb'ers - this enables me to maximise the number of people I can host and still pay my mortgage!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Have spent a lot of time crashing on various couches and floors over the years. As a sometime travel writer I love to see people making the most of their legs and opportunities and getting out there. If I can help that become a reality - or help someone get more out of that experience - then that makes me very happy. I've spent 8 of the last 12 years regularly hosting.

Interests

Like traveling and have traveled a reasonable amount - though have been quite sedentary while in Sydney. Like playing sport - currently squash but happy to swing a tennis racquet. Like walking, particularly hill walking. Read a lot. Enjoy painting/art creation, though with mixed results. Enjoy a Lego build!

  • writing
  • books
  • walking
  • board games
  • reading
  • traveling
  • painting
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • atheism
  • sports
  • tennis
  • squash
  • films
  • helping
  • lego
  • stop-motion
  • dinners for friends
  • music (listening)

Music, Movies, and Books

Books are a bit of a passion: fiction (mostly historical) and non-fiction (cosmology, evolution, history - anything that tells me a bit more about where I come from). Movies - pretty much anything with a well thought out theme. Music - quite 'middle of the road', very little that anyone else would think was cool.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Walking in the Annapurnas.

Teach, Learn, Share

I have travelled quite a lot in Australia (I co-wrote the Footprint Australia Guidebook 16 years ago) so may be able to help with Aussie travel ideas and itinieraries. I've got a few games (table games) which I enjoy - happy to teach you those!

What I Can Share with Hosts

My home, book and DVD collections, my experiences, my philosophy, maybe an Aussie travel itinerary, hopefully some good times and good meals

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Greece, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Monaco, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Portugal, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United States, Vatican City State, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    6 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Andrew’s full profile.

My Groups