Sydney Lu's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sydney’s full profile.

Overview

  • 35 references 28 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese, English; learning French
  • 41, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • Translator/Interpreter
  • Speech Communication
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Live free
Learn Ukulele

ABOUT ME
Wanderlust looking for inspiration.
I lived in southern California for 2.5 years for grad school and according to my friends, that's when my life began.
I traveled a bit when I was in grad school and I miss it A LOT. I'd love to see the world more and meet different people on the way.
I enjoy new activities. I just took an equestrian (horse-back riding) class and I will take ice-skating lesson soon. I hope to live life free and embrace the world.

PHILOSOPHY

Live free. World peace... so that we can REALLY travel around the world.
Environmental protection... so that we can have more beautiful animals in the world. Global warming is real.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I heard about CS when I was in grad school. I thought it was a great idea for meeting people and experience the kind of life local people have so that we can really enjoy the trip and not just being a tourist.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've hosted several people in my hometown Taipei, Taiwan, all good experiences. Met some interesting characters and made an instant friend.
I stayed with a couple of people in HK (2018) and a couple more in Sydney, Brisbane, Cairns, Perth, Alice Springs, Australia (2019). I'm currently (2019) touring around Oz. I hope to meet more people and listen to more stories. Couchsurfing is all about meeting people, making friends, exchanging experiences and stories. I'd like that very much.

Interests

I like movies, TV shows.
I love languages and different cultures; they are an important part of my life. I have to have culture, learn new languages. I speak English, Mandarin, and I'm learning French now.
I enjoy traveling and new activities. I've done Hanggliding and paragliding. One of my hosts in Sydney taught me how to play ukulele and I loved it. When I settle down somewhere, the first thing I will do is buy a uke and take lessons.
Also, I hope one day I get to go to Easter Island. I like mysterious structures. I want to see the Moais.

  • culture
  • flying
  • movies
  • tv
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • equestrian
  • surfing
  • paragliding
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

BBC Sherlock. (Brainy is the new sexy)
The Newsroom.
Pride and Prejudice. (big sucker for Mr. Darcy)
Disney animations. (yes, I'm a little girl at heart)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Toured around Australia in 2019
Snorkel at the Great Barrier Reef (2019, Australia)
Walk around Uluru (2019, Australia)
Horse-back riding. (2015, Taipei)
Hanggliding, paragliding. (2012~13, USA)
Grand Canyon. (2011, USA)
floating lanterns (Taipei)

Teach, Learn, Share

Learn: I'm learning ukulele and French.

Teach: I can teach Mandarin. I can cook some Asian food. I have a couple of signature dishes I can share.

Share: If you stay at my place, I can share a couch and everything in the bathroom. When I have a spare room, you can have it.

What I Can Share with Hosts

If you let me stay at your place, If you host me, I can share my travel stories, a good time hanging out, a cup of coffee.
Asian philosophy and culture, cook Asian food, help with cleaning, gardening, cooking...

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Cambodia, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Hong Kong, Japan, Macao, Mexico, Thailand, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Macao, Taiwan, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Sydney’s full profile.

My Groups