Taddeus Helm's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 10 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Taddeus’s full profile.

Overview

  • 87 references 73 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Italian; learning Italian, Japanese
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • Self employed (digital media)
  • Master in Applied Media Research
  • From Dresden, Saxony, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

#FEMALE SOLO TRAVELERS: Contrary to many men here, I do NOT use this platform for dating or sex. I've had negative experiences with male hosts abusing their power. My place is a sanctuary for all to breathe freely without fear of any abuse. Stay safe, everyone.

##SURFERS: Right now I am in the very stressful act of writing my master thesis. Most of the time I probably won't have the energy for hosting. And even if I accept, I am not reliable right now when it comes to hosting. You'd need to have a back up plan - like one of the hostels in the city. Thanks for understanding. :)

My name's Taddeus but people around the world call me Ted. I'm a student at the TU Dresden. I love life and social interaction and score exceptionally high on extraversion and enthusiasm (also openness to experience, assertiveness and intellect). Physical and mental sports and playing instruments is what excites me just as much as intellect, meaning and human connection.
Currently I'm thinking about going into global development, public relationships, fundraising, scientific communication or research. A big part of me wants to be an independent creator though, which is why I am working self employed right now.
My hopes are to leave the world a better place and be fully satisfied with myself, thus I'm constantly working towards being a better person, sometimes too much.
Sustainability is an important topic to me, which is partly the reason I refrain from most animal products (I am vegetarian/vegan) and from wasteful habits.
I'm also philosophical, meaning I like deep conversations and constructive discussions in order to evaluate new ideas. Currently I'm educating myself on abrahamic religions, especially Christianity. Note though that I have to get in the right mood, most of the time I'm "light minded" and simple.
I'm not afraid of emotions and making mistakes. I hope to be humble and down to earth.
You rarely see me at clubs and I don't consume drugs except small amounts of alcohol (ok, sometimes a bit more^^). I do love dancing and socializing though.
Please use the word "Seek" in your request to confirm that you've read this section. :)

Philosophy (my principles):
Seek Discomfort. Live sustainable. Share love and happiness. Take responsibility. Think critical. Speak the truth. Judge carefully. Be helpful. Respect others. Tolerate opinions. Reject violence. Admit mistakes. Discuss deliberative. Allow emotions. Overcome fear. Embrace vulnerability.

See also:
@taddeushelm (Instagram)
Taddeus Helm (YouTube)
ChaosQuadrat (YouTube)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I believe that by human exchange, a trip can become an unforgettable experience. More than just going to the city, taking a selfie and leaving. I LOVE meeting good people (and most people are)!
I really apprechiate people hosting me and I give back by hosting myself. :)

Interests

See above.

  • animals
  • writing
  • environment
  • running
  • politics
  • anime
  • movies
  • video games
  • chess
  • bouldering
  • music
  • guitar
  • piano
  • sports
  • languages
  • philosophy
  • ukulele
  • travelling
  • diving
  • feminism
  • veganism
  • happiness
  • video editing
  • conversing
  • purpose
  • seeking discomfort

Music, Movies, and Books

Big variety of music; love to watch movies and tv-shows. I used to play a lot of pc games. In general I like Sci-Fi, Thriller, Mystery and Action maybe. I am a Trekkie!

Current To-Read List:
- Mere Christianity (C.S. Lewis) ✅
- The Climate Book
- Eden Culture (Johannes Hartl)
- Zukunft China
- 1984 ✅
- Slaughterhouse 5
- Lords of easy money
- Drachenläufer (khaled Hosseini)
- sections of the Bible, Koran,...

Recommondations:
- Factfulness (Hans Rösling)
- How to win friends and influence people (Dale Carnegie)
- How to avoid a climate disaster (Bill Gates)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

For my 22nd birthday, I wanted to do something good for the world. Since it was lockdown, I had the idea of playing piano live on instagram. I told some friends and the whole idea quickly escalated: what went down was a huge charity event in cooperation with a local NGO, 250+ views, 666,66€ donations and a ton of fun. I want to do more like this, because it makes me feel purposeful.

Update: For my 23rd birthday, we raised 5287€. This has led to the formation of my second YouTube Channel, "ChaosQuadrat" (= chaos squared)

ERASMUS in Naples 🇮🇹🍕

Thank you for reading this section carefully, use this word in your request as a bonus: "discomfort". :)

Teach, Learn, Share

There's many things I still have to learn and to experience. That's why I'm always looking for something new to learn.
I can be a teacher in some things: Languages, cooking, music, sports and so on (interests!). I can talks lots about social science and give some advice on mental health, since I've had quite some therapy.
I want to share experiences - all kinds of experiences. I like people that strive for more every day and challenge themselfs to get better. Active people, that push beyond the horizon of their known world.
If you have found your answers on the most fundemental questions of life, I'd like to hear them.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I have been very lucky in my short life and I am not only grateful, but also humble and happy about it. By sharing my happiness and being helpful, I feel even better. A fantastic spiral upwards.
I have also done some WWOOFing in my travels. I like to help the host where ever I can help (cleaning, walking the dog, groceries,...) so please just ask me!

Needless to say, I'm going to cook for or with you. :)

I can entertain you with stories and music and you will hopefully find a great discussion partner in me. Some topics that I have experience in are global development, climate change, sports, data analysis, communication, management, video editing, podcasting, music and languages.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, France, Greece, Italy, Poland, Spain, Sweden

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Italy, New Zealand

Join Couchsurfing to see Taddeus’s full profile.