Tamir Halperin's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 20 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tamir’s full profile.

Overview

  • 42 references 37 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Hebrew (modern); learning French, Polish, Russian, Spanish
  • 60, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • I don't participate in occupation.
  • I didn't survive high school and quit early. But I did en...
  • From Warszawa, Pomeranian Voivodeship, Poland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I was born in Israel and moved to Canada at 6. After Canada, at the age of 20 I returned to Israel to do my military service. 3 yrs later I married my American/Israeli wife and we had our first daughter. My parents also moved back to Israel from Vancouver at that time. 3 yrs later, and because I didn't want to continue risking my life for the terrorist state of Israel against the innocent and defenseless Palestinian people, we moved to Philly where we lived for 10 yrs where my next daughter, son and daughter were born. We then moved the family to Jacksonville, FL for another 8 yrs. In 2008, after becoming single again, I moved to Warsaw, Poland and lived there for 15 yrs. Picked up some Polish along the way but spent most of my time there as an English / Hebrew teacher, also engaged in social engineering activism, education projects, artistic development, and a little bit of film making.

In November/2022 I moved to Barcelona, Spain to find work. I really enjoyed my time in BCN but it was too expensive to settle in and the country doesn't seem to be very welcoming. People are very warm and friendly in BCN but the system is fundamentally exclusive.

In March/2023 I relocated to France for another project. In March/2024 I moved back to Poland for another job opportunity. I hope to continue hosting CS guests as soon as I can but my living situation is less stable now. I have experienced many adventures and met some really cool people this way.

CURRENT MISSION

To connect with the world, of course! But also to help heal it and be healed by it. I dream about Russia.

ABOUT ME

I don't know what I can say here about me so let's just chat online or meet face to face to get to know each other. Read references made about me. I haven't earned a bad one yet, so I must be failing less these days.

PHILOSOPHY

live and let live. But while you're living, try to help people as much as possible. Helping others is how we help ourselves because ultimately, we are all one.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I rarely use couchsurfing as a guest and in fact Nov/2022 was my first time, so I can mostly tell you, if you ask me personally, about my experience as a host. But I did meet some very lovely people who hosted me and some stayed as very close friends.

Outside of couchsurfing.com, I surfed couches as an independent freelancing couchsurfer when I was homeless for about 6 months in 2003, but only in Jacksonville, Florida and only with my close friends.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

My home is in my heart.

When I lived in Warsaw I tried to provide a place for people to feel at home. All I ask of my guests is to be kind, be thoughtful, and learn to share your compassion with me, my friends who may be here when you are, and with my neighbors.

I like to cook, sit in the sun or walk in the rain. These are a few of my favorite things :)

I am a very open-minded person in every respect so please come with a free and open mind as well.

Interests

Too many to mention but more to the point, I am always hungry to find new ones. That's much more interesting to talk about so please share your interests with me.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I raised 4 children.

I also made a film in Poland a few years ago. I wrote the screenplay and also acted in it as a character (mostly my own self)

http://www.filmweb.pl/film/W+spirali-2015-734204
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FCyra1zi2yw
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gcx3uUlBAwc
https://watch.kcl.academy/videos/watch/0b6273f6-7b56-4169-8074-0b4e6b73a1f3

Teach, Learn, Share

I like to learn and to teach.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share with you my entire home, not only the couch. Please feel free to use my bathroom and washing machine and kitchen as well. I can provide you with WIFI and with a computer. Please be reachable at all times and this means you should have a means of communication (viber, whatsapp, skype, messenger, whatever). If not, any kiosk will sell you an affordable local sim card with a real local phone number. If I cannot reach you during your stay with me, I would prefer to not host you.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Canada, France, Germany, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Netherlands, Palestine, Slovakia, Slovenia, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, France, Israel, Palestine, Poland, Spain, United States

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Tamir’s full profile.

My Groups