Accepting Guests

  • 78% response rate
  • Last login about 16 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Taz & Sarah’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 91 References 75 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 33, Other
  • Member since 2010
  • children & youth, support work; public health
  • political science (Taz) and public health (Sarah)
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Having an awesome time meeting new people and being ambassadors for Canada!

ABOUT US

Taz has been a longtime CS host and Sarah has been a guest & host in the past but is just getting back into now that we live together. We're both big on the outdoors and enjoy traveling, delicious food/drink and spending time with friends both new and old.

PHILOSOPHY

Go placidly amid the noise and haste and remember what peace there may be in silence

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We provide a place to stay, and usually like to have a meal or two together, hang out in the evening a bit. We both have busy 9-5 schedules with lots of social/extra-curricular plans, so if you're looking for a host with lots of time to show you around, that might not be us. That said, Taz has tons of advice about where to go/what to see in Canada and tries to make as much time for CSers as possible. We prefer to host people who might be around Vancouver for a while (e.g., on working holiday visas), because who couldn't use more friends? :)

Interests

  • concerts
  • salsa dancing
  • cooking
  • mexican food
  • vegetarian
  • working out
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • camping
  • snowboarding
  • rugby
  • swimming
  • volunteering
  • comedy

Music, Movies, and Books

Fav movies: Ghost, Good Will Hunting
Fav book: anything by Douglas Coupland
Fav band: The Kinks
Fav musician: Elliott Smith
Likes docs and zombie films

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Taz - traveled to India and stayed with a Hindu family for 3 months. Turned into a vegetarian and a more politically engaged citizen.

Sarah - nighttime hike up a volcano in Panama to watch the sunrise from the peak, overlooking the Pacific Ocean and the Caribbean sea at the same time. Oh and one time I met the queen! lol

Teach, Learn, Share

Employment counseling, bereavement, renovations, mechanics, event management, public speaking, facilitating, writing, knowledge translation

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Croatia, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Fiji, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Italy, Mexico, Peru, South Africa

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Colombia, India

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Taz & Sarah’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups