Richard MORT's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Accepting Guests

  • 66% response rate
  • Last login 26 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Richard’s full profile.

Overview

  • 66 references 32 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, German, Japanese; learning Italian
  • 47, Male
  • Member since 2005
  • Creative Specialist (Translating, Copywriting)
  • Languages, Tea and the University Of Life :)
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

In a nutshell, a British linguist, writer, tea drinker and adventurer.

Read my FULL STORY here: https://bit.ly/2WDnF09

Now in Germany, I love life and devour it 150%.

1 year in France, 5 years in Singapore, 19 years in Japan. I love meeting and connecting with people. That means hosts and couchsurfers alike. People with a common sharing mentality.

I like to sum it up like this:

"A bio doesn't do me justice. I am outside the box, warm, edgy, full of compassion but full of fire."

And my philosophy in life is overwhelmingly positive:

"No pessimist ever discovered the secrets to the stars, or sailed to uncharted lands, or opened a new heaven to the human spirit."

Ask and I'll answer almost any question. I think I'm very much an individualist but I am also very friendly and enjoy meeting all types of new people!

Suffice to say, I get on with most people who are polite, open-minded and friendly and have lived in enough countries and met enough people to adapt to most situations!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/tokyogreeneyes
Insta: koberichm
LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/richardmort/

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Because I read a long time ago that 80% of success in life is human relations and I truly believe it and espouse it. I am a proud ambivert ... I enjoy my own company but I love meeting people as well.

For me, befriending, meeting, interacting with hosts and fellow like-minded peers is just as important as hosting and showing travellers around. Even more so in our "new normal" era where the number of travellers is so limited...

Having spent 24 years, over half my life, in Asia, I have hosted over 100 people / couples. I have friends all around the world, I speak four languages, I am a world citizen.

Among my passions: tea, travel, meeting people, language/culture, luxury hotels and spas, mountain-biking and Italian/Thai food.

I enjoy events and human relations are my top priority.

相手の知っている言葉で話しかければ、それは相手の頭に届く。
相手の持っている言葉で話しかければ、それは相手の心に届く。

If you talk to someone in a language they understand, it goes to their head. If you talk to them in their language, it goes to their heart.

-----

I am a livewire, self-employed writer, translator and editor with a wife and two kids. My busy life is sometimes like three people's life, but I know when to chill and when to put my foot down.

I'd love to keep meeting travellers, hosting where possible and being as much part of the community as family, time, work and energy allow.

We have always tended to host most of the time, more than travel, because I often work to the limit and then need a few luxury hotel stays and spas to recover and recharge batteries.

Having said that, we both love meeting new people. I like showing people around and sharing food and fun. So I'd like to invite any of you who are reading and considering Düsseldorf to contact me. I know the city well, where to eat, hang out, art galleries, concerts, culture and fun. (COVID 19 permitting).

I'm a foodie :)

Meeting people through CS is especially important for me (Rich), I enjoy the human contact since I work from home and so it's a bonus to chat with new people.

Creative people are great. But you don't have to be the same. I like people who intuitively know how to write to me and know we would get on well, even before we meet. That's the kind of person I'd gladly make time I don't have for. :)

Interests

Culture, language, meeting new people, new experiences, eating out (especially Italian / Thai / exotic food) and enjoy the finer things in life as well as the simpler ones sometimes...

Like sports - gym, watching football, cycling - my carbon mountain bike is my pride and joy.

  • pets
  • culture
  • writing
  • spas
  • dining
  • walking
  • electronics
  • shopping
  • reading
  • traveling
  • eating out
  • socializing
  • blogging
  • cycling
  • sports
  • soccer
  • swimming
  • tourism
  • volunteering
  • tours
  • sightseeing

Music, Movies, and Books

Here's my ON REPEAT Spotify:
https://open.spotify.com/playlist/37i9dQZF1Ept9Li5YHPxvB?si=n0xIcnEgTzq9QA-ADub7pA&utm_source=copy-link&nd=1

I like 80s music.... Stones, jazz, dance when in the gym. Some rock. Duran Duran, Level 42. 70s. Some 90s.
Really depends on my mood. Hit me up on SPOTIFY for more :)

Filmwise, enjoy 007, romance, thought-provoking movies, especially Japanese and Spanish.

Books... here's one of my all-time favourites (the best book I ever read on Japan by a foreigner)

Alan Booth was a travel writer who came to Japan in the 70s to study Noh theatre and sadly passed away before I could meet him. He walked the length of Japan, from the top of Hokkaido to Kagoshima. I rank his books as the best ever travel writing on Japan and many agree. Wherever you are, if you want to read and conjure up a mental picture of Japan, his anecdotes, wry insights, encounters, metaphors and vivid descriptions are unrivalled: https://amzn.to/3cok6yI

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

When I was 18, I ran 64 kilometers non-stop in 7 hours from Sheffield to Manchester over a national park ... so I am very determined when I want to be.

Other facts you may not know:

I hate 🍄mushrooms🍄, they are my culinary kryptonite.

❇️ I met 🤴Prince Charles🤴 in Tokyo.

❇️ I wrote to every Thai restaurant in Tokyo and arranged a 1 month homestay with a family in Bangkok that way.

❇️ I didn't walk until I was 2. (But I made up for it later with marathons and 40-mile runs. 🙂 )🏃‍♂️🏃‍♂️

❇️ I dislike 🍏Apple🍎 (all kinds except edible pies). Big Samsung fan. Galaxy for the win.

❇️ Me likes using da new version of English, a.k.a. Richlish

❇️ I bought a million yen 🚵‍♂️mountain bike🚵‍♂️ because I wanted the best.

❇️ I have lived in UK, France, Singapore and Japan. I miss Singapore sometimes, it was my stepping stone into Asia.

❇️ 🍺☕🚫🚫
I never drink beer or coffee. But I drink insane quantities of tea. I bleed tea.

❇️ I have incredible tenacity and determination. For others to say, not me though.

I enjoy proving people wrong... you can have plenty of fire inside, even if you're very easy going and friendly (which I hope I am!)

Teach, Learn, Share

For more about me, take your pick of these three podcasts :

- https://bit.ly/37cOOZX (Retrospective on 20 years in Japan)

- https://bit.ly/3ff6o3Z (Exploring the move to Germany)

- https://bit.ly/3lxzBez (Culture, business-building, outlook on life)

-------------

Here are some good tips for Düsseldorf:

A great at-a-glance and updated guide:
https://www.arrivalguides.com/en/Travelguides/Europe/Germany/Duesseldorf

An article a few years ago but pretty accurate:
https://www.timeout.com/dusseldorf/things-to-do/dusseldorf-travel-tips

Hidden gems (local stuff, not touristy):
https://travel-du.de/en/6310/dusseldorf-attractions-hidden-gems/

What I Can Share with Hosts

I speak French, German and Japanese as well as native English. I often use my languages and writing to help friends and even new acquaintances.

I seek out the best cafes and restaurants. The work hard, play hard part of me wants to reward myself with good eats and drinks and share the fun with others.

I have great connections in the city. Including over 100 Japanese expats. I would regard myself as a proud people person :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belgium, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, France, Germany, Japan, Singapore, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • 2 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Richard’s full profile.

My Groups