Logo orange

Kate Drake

Portland, OR, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kate's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 81 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, Spanish
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • Grad Student @ Oregon College of Ori...
  • International Business & Marketing
  • From Dayton, Ohio.
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Observe each moment. We are all students, teachers are relative.

ABOUT ME

Currently: When I'm not hooping, climbing, bouldering, hiking, flying (acro), swimming, sewing, reading, dancing, cooking, kissing, laughing, dreaming, meditating, yogi-ing (if that's a word), kayaking, making soaps and lotions, gardening, contemplating, croqueting, kickballing, brainstorming, volunteering, wandering, exploring, explaining, or being generally amazed with life, I attend the Oriental College of Oriental Medicine as a graduate student. So really, I'm a student, who has very little time to do all those things I just listed above, but I try!

Fall 2010 - Cross country trip from Boston to Portland, OR

2009-2010 Work 60+ hours a week as an Estate Manager for family in Boston.

I love travel and meeting new people. I'm a nomad of sorts. I love dinner parties at friends houses, being outside, participating in music festivals, trying anything I haven't done before.

2009- A quiet year for international travel, however I explored many new places and found a handful of jems on the East Coast.

2008- A jaunt in Peru, for 8 months where I was working with US teens as a tour guide. Prior to this I was volunteering with the Burners Without Borders organization and having a great time in Pisco, Peru. BWB was the first volunteering experience I had and I must say that it has changed my life. Some days were a bit stressfull or extremely physically straining, but the people really have the right attitude.

2007 - Spent some time working as a stewardess and dog care taker on a privately owned yacht. I never knew clean until I worked this job.

2005-2006 - Traveled around India, SE Asia and taught English in Beijing.

2001-2005 Worked in Cincinnati and Boston in Hotel Sales & Marketing.

Spent some time starting a non-profit and a flower business.

I support sustainable tourism and ecotravel. I'm a believer in waste reduction, not just recycling.

Because I love to travel, sources of income has varied from hotel sales, teaching, stewardessing,landscaping, catering, housesitting, massage and dog walking.

PHILOSOPHY

Random thoughts or inspirations:
- There is beauty in every situation, you just have to be looking at it the right way.
- Life is too short to complain.
- Every man dies. Not every man knows how to live.
- I wish I had just one more hour...
- Leave only footprints
- The secret of life is enjoying the passage of time
- Everyone makes a difference, no matter how small.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Host in Portland. Hosted in Boston. Surfed in NH, NYC, FL, CA, Chile, Cambodia, Thailand. And of course hanging out with the local CouchSurfers.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've met some of the best people surfing. I came back to America traveling/working abroad for 2 years. The people I stayed with were great. Super friendly, laid back and welcomed me with a smile, laughter, and even a few meals. My hosts introduced me to a ton of their friends and it's been great. Love going to the local meetups and showing newbies around town.

Interests

Craft Making
Soap/Lotion Making
Hooping
Acro Yoga
Climbing/Bouldering
Dancing
Biking
Hosting dinner parties & potlucks
Hiking, camping, & BBQ's
Scuba Diving (in tropical waters)
Writing
Sewing
Yoga
Vapassana
Cooking
Holistic health
Acupuncture & Reiki
How to make everyday items

Music, Movies & Books

Some Favorite Books:
Mountains Beyond Mountains
The Kite Runner
Mao's Last Dancer
Snow Flower and the Secret Fan
Matilda
Random "how to" books

Favorite Movies:
Pulp Fiction
Little Miss Sunshine
Waking Life
The Matrix
The Neverending Story

Music:
Folk, funk, jazz, blues, classic rock, classical, oldies, 80's, latin, turkish, drum & bass, trance,regge, hip-hop, instrumental, mongolian, tibetan chants... If you've got it, share it.

Oldies but goodies...Led Zeplin,U2,Hendrix,Bob M., Beastie Boys, Tori, Jonny Cash, Neil Young, Patti Smith, Simon & Garfunkle, B.B.King, Stevie,The Beatles, Frank Sanatra, Nat King Cole, GreenDay, Pearl Jam, Soundgarden, B-52s, Portishead, Lisa Lobe, David Bowie, Smashing Pumpkins, STP, Red Hot Chili Peppers ..TBC

Stuff that's fun... Brazilian Girls, Amy Winehouse, The Black Keys, Cake,The Music, Mocean Worker, Cat Power, Jack Johnson, Dave Matthews, Squirl Nut Zippers, Everclear, Radiohead, Live, Franz Ferdinand, JJ72, Keane, The Cranberries, Foo Fighters, Praga Khan, The Presidents of the United States, Rage, Telepopmusic, Ben Taylor, Jolie Holland, A Band of Bees, Regina Spektor, DJ Bitman...TBC

Boston Local: Mike H. the Harvard Sq. guitarist & singer, Jackline, Sarah Rabdau & the Self Employeed Assasins, PC,there's so many....TBC

Funky Groovy Stuff: Acid Mothers Guru Guru (awesome Japanese rock band)

And the list continues: Abdullah Ibrahim,

One Amazing Thing I've Done

So many....
I'll never forget climbing Mt. Siani for 4 hours at midnight to see the sun rise. A 3 day boat crusie listening to Bob Marley non-stop and eating stewed camel.---Tates like a mix between beef and turkey. Summating Mt. St. Helens- sweet! Repelling down 400 feet - in the dark and agin in the daylight. Hiking nude. Glacading. Swimming in ice-cold waters of Divide Lake, North Cascades, Oregon. Hosting the NYC invasion at my house. Planting my first garden. My friend communicating with a cat.

Teach, Learn, Share

Languages. Recipes. Gardening tips. Bike rides. Poi. Meditating. Yoga. Smoothie and popsicle making. Reiki.

Countries I've Visited

Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, Croatia, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Laos, Malaysia, Montenegro, Saint Lucia, Slovenia, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

China, India, Peru, Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Kate's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile