Thibaut CIERNIAK's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Thibaut’s full profile.

Overview

  • 16 references 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Urban Planner & Architect
  • Master's Degree in Architecture & Urbanism
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

My name is Thibaut (which may be quite difficult to pronounce for English folks …) I'm 28 and I currently live in Paris, for 5 years now. I work there as an urban planner and architect.

I was born and raised in South Burgundy, which makes me food & wine lover (but who isn't ?).
When I was a kid, I told myself that I would never have a car, because it was so un-ecological. What a precurser! But my plan was to only ride a horse ... so naive.
So here I am, riding my bicycle as much as I can, to go to work, for travelling or leisure.
(I'm part of WarmShowers community by the way ; if you like travelling by bike, check it !)

I really love my field of work. Architecture and Urbanism are everywhere and in everyone life so it is quite gratifying to try to improve the environment, neighboors and cities that people live in.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I think that in our times, we need to re-think what tourism and travelling mean. For me, it is more about sharing culture, discovering other ways of living, other customs than staying in an hotel and doing the same things you can do at home.
So couchsurfing is a perfect way to meet people who can explain you what they think, who they are, and maybe break some clichés.

I travelled a lot during my studies, and I met many people thanks to the Couchsurfing community. It has always been such nice experiences.
My best contribution was to convince my parents to use Couchsurfing. They hosted their first travellers last year and it was so fun to see them, quite doubtful at first, but confident afterwards.

Interests

As I have said before, I am quite into biking, but not just for the bike, also for everything it represents : respect of the others, health, ecology, local environnement, self-produced energy, and many things more !
I'm also into music in general. I love going to festivals, discovering bands that I would have never listened otherwise, and meeting great people too !
As I live in Paris, I try to get the most of what the city can offer. So I usually go to art or science museum, to theatre, concert etc ... I never get bored.

  • architecture
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • hitchhiking

Music, Movies, and Books

I think my favorite book would be Fahrenheit 451, by Ray Bradbury. I read it first when I was at secondary school and it made me think about many things, about what we are in this world, and what we should not be. Now, I see that we are not far from a world like this so it is our job to keep conscious of what we have and that we can loose it anytime.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hitchhiking across Canada, from Québec to Vancouver, with my friend and only our tent to sleep, our knife to eat, our mouthes to speak and our eyes to contemplate

What I Can Share with Hosts

I would be happy to share some food, cook a fine meal, have some drinks, go for a walk or anything else !

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Croatia, Germany, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, France

Join Couchsurfing to see Thibaut’s full profile.