Logo orange

Lina Berova

Munich, Bavaria, Germany

Wants to Meet Up

66% response rate · Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lina's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 125 Positive References
  • Fluent in German, Russian; learning English, French, Hebrew (modern), Japanese, Ukrainian
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • occupation? no, just visiting :)
  • SDI München (kind of highschool for ...
  • From Kharkov, Ukraine
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

impossible

ABOUT ME

Born and grew up in the Russian-speaking part of Ukraine, living in Munich since 1998, that means from the age of 14. I'm a freelance translator and work with Russian and German.I love my job, creating something in general (food, pictures, poems), trying new things, learn new languages (well, Hebrew is rather a very old language:), sometimes meeting new and old friends... and just being.
Of course I enjoy traveling very much. Even if I don't have time to go somewhere, I keep traveling "inside out", by receiving people from different places and speaking different languages who are traveling too.
I don't drink alcohol (it makes me fall asleep) but sometimes it's easier for me to talk to people when they are a bit drunk. I'm vegetarian but think people who like meat should eat meat, just be aware and not buy more than actually needed (and throw it later).

PHILOSOPHY

Be happy!
***
Nur Idioten halten Ordnung, ein Genie beherrscht das Chaos.
***
"You are vegetarian? So you really love animals?
No! But I HATE plants!"
***
And now seriously:
If God does really exist and has created something - then the earth, the mountains, water, grass and trees, and everything in the nature, but not temples and religions. Temples and religions were definitely created by men. If you want to worship God (or - doesn't really matter how you call it) - then, first of all, you should treat his creation, that means, your environment, nature and human beings around you - with respect and love!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Hosting and organizing.
Encouraging friends to join CS.
Language exchange.
Surfing.
Summer 2015 i am planning to make a "Khata in Karpaty", a house in the Carpathian mountains in Ukraine where i will be glad to welcome all people and friends: https://www.facebook.com/events/786011518125722/, you are welcome to join the event and share this information.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Hosted people from Italy, Germany, England, France, USA, Spain, Brazil, Israel, Ukraine, Russia, Serbia, Latvia, Sweden, Mexico, Switzerland, Estonia, Canada, Greece, Australia, Hungary/Romania, India, Kazakhstan, China...Organized several CS-meetings at my place and keep doing so.
Couchsurfed in Switzerland, France, Russia, Bosnia, Israel, Oman, Spain, Portugal, Slovenia, Croatia, Albania, Montenegro, Macedonia, Bulgaria, Germany, Lebanon, Tunisia, Ukraine, Romania, Slovakia... more countries to come...
Learned to speak English within a year on CouchSurfing.
Started to use my other languages.
Through CouchSurfing i met a lot of people who became very good friends of mine...
Learned to cook some Indian and some Greek food.
I guess i also saved a lot of money which i would otherwise pay for accommodation (but i am trying to use this money for good things, e.g. cooking for and with my guests and hosts).
This website changed my life, i only ask myself why i didn't join earlier.

Interests

photography, word-juggling, mantras, yoga, cinema (arthouse), to fall in love, creating, cooking, insects, new languages, living with open doors, keeping moving, medical and technical translations, reading in French, sea and tea, Hebrew, networking, Rainbow Gatherings, festivals, entomology, some origami, some SEO

Music, Movies & Books

Movies of Pedro Almodovar, Francois Ozon, Sergej Solowjew, old Soviet comedies
"L'uomo che verra", "Le scaphandre et le papillon", "The Sea Inside", "Bienvenue chez les Ch'tis"

Music
Mostly my preferences are always changing; my only permanent preferences are silence and sea waves. Of course i love to listen to music performed by my friends, whatever it is.

Books
Boris Vian
Alice in Wonderland
Le Petit Prince
Sheat Ivrit :)

Poetry:
Federico Garcia Lorca, Daniil Harms, Boris Pasternak

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Crossing borders between countries by walking.
Traveling Ukraine, my native country, for the first time after 14 years living abroad, just after Maidan revolution in 2014 (although i used to come to Ukraine every year, but only to Kharkiv).
Translating in a slaughterhouse after 8 years being vegetarian.
Hitchhiking and discovering how amazingly universe takes care of us.
And sunsets.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach:
* Russian and German, some French and some Hebrew, also some English (depends on your level, I'm fluent only in first two languages, this means, I will correct you non-stop if you speak Russian or German even if you consider yourself a native speaker)
* making healthy sweets and other stuff
* lot of things about Ukraine and Russia and about the life in Germany
* some basics in photography
* finding clients without paying for advertisement via Internet (or better making them find you)
* how to find nice free toilets in every city of the world (but I will not tell everything, I'm planning to publish a "World's free toilet guide")

I would like to practice French and Hebrew.

I can take good pictures of you because I like to take pictures of people.
I can show you around Munich and share pieces of my autobiography as I spent more than the half of my life in this city.

Unfortunately I can't teach you to be happy: you must learn it on your own. But for most of people I met through CS it's not a problem :)

What I Can Share With Hosts

I can tell you lot of travel stories, take great portrait pictures of you with my camera and maybe cook something simple, tasty and vegetarian. Also, i can tell you a lot about life in Ukraine and in Germany, amazing things about all the languages i was trying to learn and random facts i get to know every day while interpreting or translating different things.

Countries I've Visited

Albania, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Ethiopia, France, Greece, Hungary, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Latvia, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malaysia, Montenegro, Myanmar, Netherlands, Oman, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, Ukraine

Countries I've Lived In

Germany, Ukraine

Join Couchsurfing to see Lina's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile