Els Dehaen's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 17 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Els’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 8 References 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German, Hungarian, Japanese, Portuguese, Swedish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • ESL teacher
  • English & Latin/European Studies
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To learn as many languages as possible

ABOUT ME

I love (learning) languages, and currently speak Dutch (mother tongue), English, French, German, Swedish, Portuguese and Hungarian to some extent but would love to speak more. I can say "habitación con ducha" In Spanish.

PHILOSOPHY

“He says, you have to study and learn so that you can make up your own mind about history and everything else but you can’t make up an empty mind. Stock your mind, stock your mind. You might be poor, your shoes might be broken, but your mind is a palace.”
― Frank McCourt, Angela's Ashes

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I host, I travel. I went to my first CS meeting in Dublin in October '16 and it was great!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

When I was on Erasmus in Budapest, Hungary, I learned more about couch surfing because my flatmates used it. We hosted some people too, and the experience was always positive.

Interests

music, languages, series, travelling, cultures, writing, journalism

  • writing
  • traveling
  • music
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • teaching
  • history
  • journalism
  • languages
  • study abroad

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/6381343-els-dehaen
Music: http://www.last.fm/user/gephura

I generally watch all movies that people recommend. Feel free.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've cycled from Belgium to Hungary with my friend Ádám (ok we took a train in Austria) and couchsurfed along the way.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm an ESL (English as a second language) teacher, so that. I also teach Latin and Dutch.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Hungary

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Els’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups