Timothy De Ryck's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 38% response rate
  • Last login 7 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Timothy’s full profile.

Overview

  • 40 references 36 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, French; learning Chinese, German, Russian, Spanish
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • social worker
  • Political sciences
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I temporarily live in a house about a 15min tramride away from the centre of Antwerp. I am glad to accept couchsurfers again this summer for hanging out in the garden. For those who don't want to stay inside, it is also possible to camp in the garden.

------------------------------------------

I guess i am quite openminded, curious and easy going. I like to read a lot, listen to records, going to concerts, trying to keep in shape with some running and spend time with the people i love. I am always eager to learn and to hear people's opinions, kind of like broading my mind and spectrum of thinking. I like people who challenge my way of thinking and provide me with new insights.
Currently i'm some kind of social worker, I work with longtime unemployed and low skilled workers to give them a chance on the regular labour market. I really love this job and the contact I have with people from so many different backgrounds.
I like meeting new people and just hang out. I'm very curious, i want to experience a lot of things and i'm very open to learning new things. I'm easy going but can be quiet when i don't feel comfortable, i need some time to open up as being an introvert.

Also keen on learning new languages. Current challenge is russian and spanish

PHILOSOPHY

I think life is about experiencing things, being open to new things. I don't really care much about materialism. I'm pretty fine when i can satisfy my basic needs, relax and spend my time the way i like.
I don't care much about being cool, hip and trendy, it is just really tiresome

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Meet up with interesting people, get to know places i visit from an insider point of view

Interests

Books (fiction and non-fiction), music (listening, i don't have any musical talent), playing records, going to gigs, politics and society, learning new things, checking out movies, art and museum stuff, just hanging out, travelling / backpacking, hearing peoples stories, getting to know other cultures, being a barfly, environmental conciousness,...

  • arts
  • writing
  • books
  • concerts
  • cooking
  • drinking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • social work
  • mindfulness
  • records

Music, Movies, and Books

Quite an eclectic taste. I grew up with punk and hardcore music which gave me a direction in life and a sense of belonging to something, which will always be special to me. But with getting older, one's taste is getting broader. I also enjoy soul, jazz, indie, blues, rock 'n roll, metal, garage, classical music, reggae...
I like things that sound raw, dirty, unpolished, sleazy

Books: my favorite authors include kurt vonnegut, dostoevsky, john steinbeck

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Going to a wedding in China. Quite amazing to see how much different it is from our western weddings.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can learn you to make acquaintance with some great music and i have to many useless knowledge and facts inside my head. I am also good in talking about books and stuff.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can show you the instagram spots in the city so you can be #cool on the social media. Also the interesting spots and some museum related stuff or book related stuff or hang out related stuff or beer related stuff or just stuff

As i am a super awesome I get a lot of requests lately. It is time consuming to answer everything. Although i don't like to pose guidelines, I will do it now so I have more room for the interesting genuine people. Requests which don't follow these simple guidelines will not get a reply:

-I like to spend a bit of time with my guests. So if you stay for one night and plan to arrive late at night, i will not accept
-Maximum stay is two nights. If we get along well it is possible to extend your stay
-Please mention your favorite book or record, then i know you have read this.
-No copy/paste requests please. I once even got a request of somebody who would liked to talk about my trip to madagascar, where i have never been or never ever mentioned
-It is not a big problem for me if you don't have any references (everybody needs to start somewhere) but at least fill in your profile. Empty profiles without any references will not get a reply

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Cambodia, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Laos, Latvia, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Netherlands, Poland, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium

Join Couchsurfing to see Timothy’s full profile.