Tomasz Brewko's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tomasz’s full profile.

Overview

  • 18 references 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Polish, Spanish; learning French, Russian
  • 55, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • English Translator
  • English Philology, MBA
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Well, I'm a happy open-minded guy. Relaxed and easygoing. I try to stay positive and learn new things all the time and stay curious. I love travelling and meeting people and learning new things about countries, different cultures. I love people to be different. Also different from me. That keeps it interesting. I believe in flow of energy. In my opinion there are only two types of people in this world: good people and, excuse my French, arseholes. Needless to say, I try to avoid those. Luckily I meet a lot of amazing like-minded kind-hearted intelligent and fun people. So it's not so bad really :) Other things are not so important. As long as we keep an open mind and have respect for other people and their ways. Then there is always ample common ground to put up new bridges, bridges of understanding, of knowledge, of communication, of spending time together. People are a big and important part of my life.

I've been single over the past few years. A lone wolf. Feeling good and happy though. Good genes and a young soul does it. Feel free to ask me things in a pm or when we meet. I am not a very secretive type but then I don't feel comfortable spilling out too much personal stuff online. Also, when you travel the world, you realise there are different cultures and what is accepted in one is looked down at in another. And sometimes it's better not to go into certain details or name things because they don't matter. The actual meeting of cultures is smooth and all works out just fine. People are people and a kind word and a big smile and sharing of food usually takes you far. Meeting people. That what's travelling is all about for me.

As most people, I too have a circle of close friends (some of them are old friends of many years, more than some of you have ;)) both in Poland and abroad. And last but not least a dog called Misiek. He came from a rescue centre and has been with me since August 2014. Don't be fooled by his size (German shepherd). He's a gentle giant. Super friendly and calm. An old soul like me.

What I can offer my guests is a clean and safe home to stay and rest. Most often I will also make you some food. Will try to make you feel welcome and at home, and show you around if I have time. If busy with work or life, I will still try to set you up with maps and tips of what's there to see. If you need, I will lend you my spare phone with a local sim card for calls and data so that we can be in touch. I will try to make your stay in Warszawa as pleasant and enjoyable as possible (we say vahr-SHAH-vah in Polish - I don't like the English equivalent of the name: War - Saw - really?! who came up with this?!). My apartment is 20 minutes by direct bus from the city centre (the Palace of Culture and the Central Railway Station) and about 1 hour by 2 buses or train and bus from both the Chopin Airport and 1.5 hrs from the Modlin Airport. Uber from the Chopin Airport is about 30-35 Zloty (8 euro or 9 usd). (address to put in Uber app is Motycka 23, Warszawa). The nearest metro station is Trocka Station on line M2, 600 metres from my house.

Safe and Amazing Travels!

Tambien hablo espanol. No tan bien como en ingles pero creo que suficientemente bien. Tengo un piso en el sur de Espana y paso mucho tiempo alli. Me encanta quedar con gente de todo el mundo y charlar sobre todo y nada :) Pasarlo bien juntos!!!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm on couchsurfing as I love travelling myself and it will be a pleasure to help other travellers in my city of Warsaw or Warszawa. Knowing a local when travelling is priceless. It makes travelling real and meaningful. It allows you to meet real people and see the best of a place. There's no better way to travel than being in touch with the locals, in my opinion. I believe that we are not all that different, as long as we keep an open mind and have respect for other people and their ways. And when I travel I see how much similar we all are. I'm particularly interested in meeting people who are willing to share their culture and time and a kind word with me. This is when cross-cultural magic happens! :)

Some important stuff I'd like to clarify about me and CS:
Why am I NOT on Couchsurfing! I'm not on CS to send money to strangers. Sorry if you are in trouble. Really! When I travel I see that in some places life is hard. But I don't know you. I've been approached many times with requests to help and send money for food. I don't send money to strangers. I will not. No exceptions made! I am a person like you. Not rich. Not a wallet. Not a bank account. I have family and friends and when they are in trouble, of course I help. But I will not be fooled by internet hoaxes and people who pretend to be friends to take advantage of you. It is very bad energy. Not interested!
Another unpleasant and to be honest troubling thing. Neither am I interested in engaging in romantic and/or sexual acts in exchange for money or favours or gifts. Sure, sometimes you meet someone and you find them atractive. We are only people. And sex is... just sex, not such a big deal tbh, but not like this. This seems dirty and wrong and I have no interest in it. It is very bad vibes / karma / energy. I do hope I've made myself very clear! Please respect this or I will block you. And if you are persistent, I will report you.

Some people try to sell me services on CS. Respectfully, it's wrong. I'm on CS for the very reason not to use the tourism industry but to share hospitality kindness and promote the multicultural experience tolerance and diversity. When I receive people in my home I put them up and feed them and show them around and pick them up from the station and drive them and hang around with them out of pleasure and FOR FREE. That's the idea behind CS. Thank you for respecting this.

Interests

  • dogs
  • arts
  • theater
  • working out
  • walking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • eating out
  • socializing
  • music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • scuba diving
  • swimming
  • languages
  • nature
  • meeting new people
  • cinematography
  • foreign cultures

Music, Movies, and Books

We can talk about this when we meet :)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

For me the most amazing thing I've done lately was to visit Australia. I fell in love with the place and thanks to my family and friends there I got to see so much!

And scuba diving in general: in Thailand, Egypt and Kenya and many other places. It's lots of fun. I have AOWD and Nitrox. This year I'm doing a Deep Diver course and a Dry Suit one. The closest magic place for me to go diving is Hurghada in Egypt. Love it, to be honest :)

Teach, Learn, Share

I like talking a lot and also love to listen to people's stories and sharing. We'll think of something interesting. I'm sure of that :) There's so much stuff going on when you meet people.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My time, my stories, my sense of humour. It's always an honour to be invited to someone's home. It's very special for me.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Ethiopia, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Italy, Kenya, Lithuania, Malaysia, Netherlands, Portugal, Qatar, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Tomasz’s full profile.