Shan Tony Peiris's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 87% response rate
  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Shan Tony’s full profile.


  • 40 references 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Sinhala, Sinhalese; learning French, Spanish
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Software Architect & Engineer
  • University in California, Software Dev
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Travel, Discover, Learn, Share, Experience


I've been a host since 2009 when CouchSurfing was new. I used to have many more reviews before they company switched.

(I'm an INFJ)

This might sound cliché, but I am truly a very simple guy on the surface. At the same time, I enjoy depth and contrast in my life and the world around me. I am drawn to meaningful causes, friendships, and the like. I like to look at the subtleties of life and appreciate the small things, smiling every chance I get and always being positive, grateful, and thankful for the blessings in my life. My goal in life is to live with purpose and passion. My work requires me to spend a lot of time in front of the computer, so I crave the outdoors, social interaction, and simply getting out. I also host a lot of events in and around the city. I love the company of good friends and family, and I cherish every little moment I have to spare. I love my work and also my life despite all my personal hardships. Most of the time, I like to relax and watch a movie or listen to some good music when I'm not working or traveling. Other times, I like to go out and have fun at the beach, go fishing, eat out (esp street food), visit interesting places, go hiking/camping or just hang out at the park or something like that. . I also strongly believe in God, but some of my best friends are atheists. So I can get along with anyone and everyone.

I had to get divorced back in 2015 and I was taking care of my son full time as a single parent and worked remotely for my company in Canada. My son and I are extremely close. We have loads of fun together and play all the time. I'm a dad who is trying to find the perfect balance to be a perfect father. I've been a single parent for over three years, but these days, he has been with his mother for a while. I hope to travel as much as possible during this time. Otherwise, I am usually hosting CouchSurfers at home. :-)


Im also a part-time digital nomad. If you have never heard of this term, "Digital Nomads are individuals that leverage technology in order to work remotely and live an independent and nomadic lifestyle." - r/digitalnomad/ ... This means that I basically work on my full-time job as I travel. I usually know how to balance this well so that I can spend a lot of quality time with my host/guest before I sit down at my computer to do my work. I usually enjoy working at coffee shops and tea houses :-)


Always be grateful and thankful for everything I have been blessed with in life. Everything bad is a blessing in disguise for those who love God.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I plan to make lots of friends and spread the word about CS. I joined CS when CS wasn't really too popular yet. It's grown so much and my I wish I can do more and more activities though this site/app.


I have mostly been a CS host, so far never a guest yet. I have hosted many people and even met up with lots of CSers but I have only been a guest a very few times. I would like to do this more too.


I have had many interests in the past, but these days I am discovering myself again. A big chapter of my life has ended and a new one is beginning. Lately, I am most interested in learning about other people and gaining insight into new and different perspectives.

  • causes
  • cooking
  • baking
  • gardening
  • technology
  • traveling
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • camping
  • christian
  • beaches
  • friends
  • relaxing
  • sleeping
  • discussion
  • conversation
  • edm
  • programming
  • parenting
  • making friends
  • lucid dreaming
  • programing
  • making new friends
  • christianity
  • meaningful conversation
  • information technology
  • digital nomad
  • friends and family
  • mbti
  • meaning of life
  • fishing.
  • infj

Music, Movies, and Books

I enjoy thought provoking and inspirational movies. I like all sorts of music as well... but my favorite is 80's music, and some 90's stuff! I love instrumentals and orchestra too... I also enjoy EDM and the sort of music played in night clubs beause of the beat. I tend to avoid music with any kind of negativity though. I have also always wanted to make short films. Haven't gotten around to it yet though.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The most amazing thing I have seen in my life is the birth of my son. The most amazing thing I have ever done is being a father. My little boy is the person i cherish most in this whole world.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can (and usually do) share loads of info and insight about computers and technology in general with anyone that is interested. I love EDM and raves. I am not a fan of politics much. I have also traveled in the US and Canada, and parts of Asia and Central America and I can use those experiences to share what I know. I can also teach some cooking, baking, home renovations and basic construction work. I also have done a lot of research about religion in the past, and always eager to learn more. I am not super religious, but I have an open mind and I do definitely believe in God so this is something I love talking about (as long as I don't offend anyone.) I love to learn more about places I can visit, people I can meet, and how to be even more social than I am right now and contribute to make the world a better place.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My friendship, lame jokes, and fun knowledge. Cooking , help around the house, renovations, language exchange, etc.. Anything really!!

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Mexico, Singapore, Sri Lanka, United Arab Emirates, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Sri Lanka, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Shan Tony’s full profile.

My Groups