Steve Grace's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Steve’s full profile.

Overview

  • 16 references 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 72, Male
  • Member since 2005
  • Brand Ambassador, Grasshopper Adventures
  • MA Journalism
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To explore the world while developing smart, responsible travel and tourism opportunities.

ABOUT ME
I returned to the USA from Asia in May (2021). September & October 2021, traveling in Europe and nearby. My work is based in Asia and takes me around the world. I hope we meet along the way.

PHILOSOPHY

When in doubt, run.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've been connected to Couchsurfing for nearly 18 years. Wow, time flies.

Seven+ years ago I headed off for a 9 month work assignment in Siem Reap, Cambodia. It's turned into an on-going travel adventure. I work for an adventure travel company in SE Asia and (pre-Covid) called Bangkok home.

My Asian work and wanderings have taken me to Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam, Laos, Malaysia, Indonesia, India, Sri Lanka, Japan, Taiwan, Singapore and Myanmar.

Lots of stories and connections to share!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

All positive!

I was an active host and friend to many CS'ers in the U.S. for 8 years. Previously, lived in Southern California and Colorado, where I hosted guests from around the world. All-in-all it has been a remarkably positive and rewarding experience.

Interests

I have worked in cultural and adventure travel, been on the faculty and leadership teams at two universities, produced television news programming and ... traveled extensively.

I have been fortunate to explore much of the world.

Interests include politics, local culture (and food!), contemporary art and music and finding off-the-beaten path areas to explore.

  • arts
  • dining
  • beer
  • coffee
  • running
  • pub crawls
  • news
  • traveling
  • music
  • tourism

Music, Movies, and Books

Current Reads..
Shadow of the Silk Road, Colin Thubron
A Gentleman in Moscow, Amor Towles

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

(Two things?) I am the father of two amazing daughters.

Teach, Learn, Share

Love to eat. Happy to help cook and a 5star kitchen clean-up export.
Exploring local history, food, culture.. a huge 'YES'

What I Can Share with Hosts

So much to share about travel and especially Asia; things to do, places to go and people to meet.

In September (2021) I'll be traveling (Covid safe & vaccinated) through Europe, for work and to catch up with friends

I am currently in USA and fully vaccinated. The past 8 years I've been living in and exploring primarily using Bangkok as a work and travel base - it's been an incredible experience.

Looking for new friends to share food, outdoor adventures plus any & all cultural insights.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Laos, Mexico, Myanmar, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Panama, Peru, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Scotland, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Cambodia, Egypt, Malaysia, Thailand, United States, Viet Nam

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Steve’s full profile.

My Groups