Logo orange

Elisabeth L W

Vienna, Vienna, Austria

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 13 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Elisabeth's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 18 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Norwegian; learning Danish, German, Italian, Spanish, Swedish
  • 22, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Student, ish
  • The internet taught me all I know!
  • From Oslo
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

I'm this person who's only just started exploring the world and am pretty excited about that!

I grew up in Norway, then went to Austria to study, and recently finished my studies (for now). Which means the future is a blank canvas for now! I spend my days learning languages, dancing, internetting, playing music, reading and daydreaming about conversations with strangers.

-----------------------

Hola! Soy Elisabeth.

La historia de mi vida se podría contar de una manera sumamente breve: Crecí en Noruega (donde aprendí a apreciar la nieve, a comer queso marrón en pan oscuro, a bailar en caballos y a ser un poquito torpe), luego fui a Austria para estudiar (donde no vi ni una montaña, pero sí un montón de gente disfrazada de Mozart, y donde aprendí a tocar la guitarra por plata y a hablar español, sorprendentemente), y ahora me encuentro en Argentina! Estoy acá desde hace unas pocas semanas, y me quedo unas tantas semanas más.

Desde luego, hay bastantes detalles más que podría contar. Sin embargo, me parece mejor contar las historias en persona que llenar mi perfil de ellas, también porque prefiero dialogos a monólogos. Así que si querés saber más, preguntame :)

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

I think Couchsurfing is brilliant, mainly because it's a platform that makes it so much easier to connect with other people in a new place.

The interesting thing about travelling, to me, is not really the places I visit, but rather the people I meet there, getting an idea of their ideas and habits and ways of being. As a tourist in a hostel, I'd feel like I'm only ever seeing the surface of things, while when staying with a local, it's like I get a glimpse of the inside. A nice side effect of that is making friends all over the world!

---------------------

Me encanta viajar. Lo que más me encanta de viajar no es ver un montón de edificios que no hay en mi país, sino estar rodeada de otra cultura, de otras maneras de hacer las cosas y otras maneras de pensar. Ya que la cultura se encuentra en la gente, lo que a mi me importa cuando viajo es conocer a la gente del lugar, a hablar con ellos, a escuchar sus historias.

Cuando viajo con Couchsurfing, en vez de ver sólo el superficie del lugar que visito, tengo el sentido de poder ver todo un poco más "desde adentro", de tener una impresión de como es la vida allá, y eso es para mi la mejor manera de viajar. Me parece genial conocer a gente en todo el mundo.

Interests

My main hobby is a sport called equestrian vaulting (or voltigieren/voltige/volteggio/volteo, depending on the language). It's basically a mix of gymnastics and dance on a horse, and it's pretty much as crazy as it sounds.

I also like music a lot. I'm always on the lookout for new music, so if you know of something you think I might like, I'm happy to take recommendations! I really enjoy singing and accompany myself on the guitar (although I'm not a great guitarist). I'd love to write my own music, but haven't quite arrived at that point yet - I did record a couple of covers at home for fun, though: https://soundcloud.com/lillelissa

Other than that, I like spending time outside, going for walks, being abroad, meeting new people, dancing, learning new stuff, going to concerts, doing strength training, hanging out on the internet, cooking, doing gymnastics in random places and generally being a bit silly.

-----------

Durante 11 años invertí la mayoría de mi tiempo en mi deporte, volteo, que es una mezcla de danza y gimnasia en caballos. Ya hace un año que no entreno, debido a una lesión, pero todavía lo veo como "mi" deporte, y soy entrenadora.

Diría que mis intereses principales son los idiomas, la gente (me fascina mucho intentar averiguar cómo funcionamos y descubrir en qué somos diferentes) y la música. Desde pequeña paso también bastante tiempo en el maravilloso mundo del internet, que me ha enseñado gran parte de las cosas que sé y que incluso me ha traído algunos muy buenos amigos.

Canto con frecuencia (aunque con un poquito de timidez a veces), y quiero aprender a escribir mis propias canciones, pero todavía no lo conseguí. Grabé algunos covers (en casa, así que son grabaciones de mala calidad) para amigos, que se pueden encontrar acá: https://soundcloud.com/lillelissa

Ah, y bailo tango! Bailo también otras cosas de vez en cuando, aunque en realidad no sé bailar otra cosa. Me parece bien cuando la gente baila sin saber bailar (capaz que no existen tantos acá, pero en mi país la gente no suele saber bailar, por lo que hay que alentarlos a probarlo igual).

Music, Movies & Books

A list of things I listen to (or used to listen to a lot): Arcade Fire, Arctic Monkeys, Band of Horses, The Beatles, Beirut, Belle and Sebastian, Damien Rice, Death Cab for Cutie, Depeche Mode, Diablo Swing Orchestra, Dota, Fiona Apple(!), Florence + the Machine, Imogen Heap, Iron & Wine, Kaiser Chiefs, Kaizers Orchestra(!), Lisa Hannigan, Marina and the Diamonds, Missy Higgins, The Mountain Goats, No Doubt, Portishead, Regina Spektor, Rockettothesky, The Raconteurs, The Shins, Susanne Sundfør(!), Tori Amos, The White Stripes.

For more extended and potentially more updated information on my musical habits and preferences: http://www.last.fm/user/Elisabeth16

I don't really watch movies too often, kind of never got into the habit of doing so, but here are some that I've seen and enjoyed: (500) Days of Summer, Across the Universe, A Beautiful Mind, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Ice Age, Pippi, The Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl, The Phantom of the Opera, The Secret Garden, T

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Honestly I'm amazed by stuff pretty frequently. I'm easily fascinated, even just by little everyday things. If I'm going to pick one concrete thing though, here's one off the top of my mind:

Generally I just play the guitar/sing by myself - I taught myself through the internet when I was a teen and just played in my room with the door closed (partly out of shyness, partly out of fear of disturbing anybody). After this party a while back though, somebody told me to play something for them, and I ended up playing for something like an hour for a group of people. They just told me to keep going and seemed to really enjoy it, so that blew my mind a bit. After that, I've gotten a bit less shy about playing for other people.

Teach, Learn, Share

I like learning and teaching languages. If you want to learn any of the languages I speak, or feel like teaching me something, let me know! :) I'm also up for learning any kind of dance, or cooking, or anything you feel like teaching, really. Try me!

Apart from that, I can teach the very basics of playing guitar (chords, and reading tabs), and would also like to learn more from somebody more skilled at guitar playing than I am.

I suppose I could teach some basic gymnastics too, and vaulting, of course - though you'd have to provide the horse...

Also I recently found out I can do push-ups on one hand, and while I might not be able to teach it, I'll totally brag to you about it.

-------------

Me gusta enseñar, así que sin problema puedo enseñar cualquier cosa que sé, y además algunas cosas que no sé. Esto incluye los idiomas que sé hablar (y un par que solo casi sé hablar), los instrumentos que sé tocar, tango, cosas de gimnasia y lo que se te ocurra, preguntame!

También me gusta aprender - en particular bailes de cualquier índole, pero también otras cosas. Enseñame algo, si querés :)

What I Can Share With Hosts

Conversaciones, experiencias, canciones (viajo con un ukulele, te puedo enseñar a tocar también), regalitos, comidas (que puedo cocinar yo y mis compañeros de viaje), alegría, lo que sea!

Te puedo tocar temas de los redondos en el ukulele si te parece gracioso :)

Me gusta cocinar, sobre todo dulces (mi "especialidad" son galletas con chocolate). Si querés ayuda con alguna cosa (ordenar, limpiar, hacer las compras, cuidar animales), me podés preguntar sin problema.

Countries I've Visited

Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Italy, Norway, Russian Federation, Spain, Sweden

Countries I've Lived In

Austria, Norway

Join Couchsurfing to see Elisabeth's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile