Vebjørn Loen

Stavanger, Rogaland, Norway

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 6 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Vebjørn’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in Danish, English, Norwegian, Swedish; learning German, Serbian, Spanish
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Engineer
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • From Møre og Romsdal, Norway
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

Fellow which grew up on the countryside in the coastal mid-western part of Norway (Møre og Romsdal).
Grew up even more as a student for 6 years in excellent Trondheim.
Currently engineer by trade in Stavanger and self-claimed adventurer by heart spending as much time as possible roaming the great "abroad", looking for the moment that changes everything.

I do have somewhat of a life motto I dearly wish to follow. It seems like I'm not able to fully comitted to it, but it makes it nonetheless true in my opinion:
When your only argument limiting you from doing what you want is "I don't dare", you just got to do it! Why not?
What don't kill you (or to be precise: permanently harms you in any way), can only make you stronger.

I'm a kind of person that never will frown upon a good party or two. Actually I have a hard time to say no to anything social.
With a great interest in the importance of history, politics and industry of any place or country I certainly enjoy a good discussion aswell, especially on those subjects.
As I mentioned before, I grew up on the countryside, but have grown into becoming a fan of city life, enjoying street art, buskers, urban exploring and the spontanious "abnormalities" of a city aswell as what it usually can offer of cultural and social inputs. Still, not much can beat the relaxation of enjoying the silence and views of rural areas.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To meet interesting and cool people for awesome travel experiences!


Music, traveling, skiing, photographing, technology, exercise sports (soccer, squash etc.), reading when I got the time, picking my guitar/ukulele, politics/history/culture and their influence on eachother

Music, Movies, and Books

A few Scandinavian favourites:
Major Parkinson, Kaizers Orchestra, Håkan Hellström, Kakkmaddafakka,

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Too hard to just pick out only one thing, but some great moments were:
* Bathing in a natural "heitur pottur" on Iceland
* Raced one of the locals on his motorbike across Phu Quoc Island
* Driving Vietnam and Laos on my own motorbike!
* Experiencing the awesome Byron Bay backpacker feeling

Teach, Learn, Share

I enjoy teaching Norwegian. I can even learn you some of the different dialects ;)
I'm a carpenter and mechanical engineer by skill, and I might also know a few things about cars, motors and other technicalities if you're interested.
Basic ukulele can also be teached.

I would like to learn/improve my german and spanish and learn the local language in whichever country I'm travelling in :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Australia, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ethiopia, Faroe Islands, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Laos, Macedonia, Malaysia, Moldova, Montenegro, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Sweden, Thailand, Uganda, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In


Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Vebjørn’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups