Alisha McDarris's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alisha’s full profile.

Overview

  • 28 references 27 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German, Spanish
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Freelance writer and photographer
  • The School of Life
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Enjoying life!

ABOUT ME

First of all, my husband and I live in a tiny house!

I am a freelance photographer and writer and travel blogger. I love to experience new places, new people, new cultures. I love learning. I am also a vegan and love to stuff myself with all the delicious options in Austin.

My husband Josh is always with me, too, and is a freelance videographer and editor working on starting his first film.
We also have a travel blog that helps wanderers travel on a budget. www.terradrift.com

IMPORTANT: If you don’t have a car, this is probably not the place for you unless you want to pay for a $20 uber into the city several times a day. We are not near public transport. ALSO! If you plan to stay out late enjoying the live music scene, this is also not the place for you. We go to bed around 11 and ask that guests are respectful of that. LASTLY: don’t request to stay more than a week or so ahead of time as we don’t plan that far in advance.

PHILOSOPHY

Love God, love people (all people).
Life is for the living.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We love to open our couch (aka: futon in the loft) to surfers and have surfed all over the world.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

We have hosted a handful of great people and slept in guest rooms and on couches on three continents and had good experiences and weird experiences, but never bad experiences.

Interests

Photography, art, theater, literature, writing, vegan food, adventuring, backpacking, kayaking, fitness, anything where I get to play outside, really.

  • arts
  • writing
  • literature
  • theater
  • photography
  • dining
  • coffee
  • vegan
  • fitness
  • technology
  • movies
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • kayaking
  • surfing
  • freelancing
  • outdoors

Music, Movies, and Books

I love to read the classics. To Kill a Mockingbird, Crime and Punishment, Picture of Dorian Gray, Sherlock Holmes, Frankenstein, Dracula, Pride and Prejudice. I love comedies and modern classics as well. Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Catch-22, The Gone Away World, Like Trees Walking. Dark, complex movies like Sweeney Todd, Pan's Labyrinth, District 9 and V for Vendetta are usually my favorites, but I love comedies as well. I enjoy all kinds of music from Keane to Queen, Broadway show tunes to classic rock.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

One? Toughy. As a skinny white girl wandering the sidewalks of China 2 years ago with no company but my camera, I ran into a couple of Chinese teenagers who had never met me, but wanted me in on a game of limbo they were playing in the parking lot. Not much was said. Nothing needed to be said. It was enough to know that we could laugh and smile together and share an experience though we did not speak the same language. It felt like peace. And peace is so hard to find.

Teach, Learn, Share

We love to share our knowledge of photography and videography with anyone who is interested! We'd also be happy to introduce guests and hosts to good vegan food (ie: not salad). And if anyone wants to repay us by teaching us a new language, well, we wouldn't say no to that.

What I Can Share with Hosts

We'd be happy to cook a vegan meal and share stories!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Romania, Slovakia, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Alisha’s full profile.

My Groups