Veljan .'s Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 3 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Veljan’s full profile.

Overview

  • 10 references
  • Fluent in English, French, Macedonian, Spanish; learning French, Spanish
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2023
  • Project Writer and Coordinator of Erasmus+ Projects
  • Bachelor of Biochemistry
  • From Republic of Macedonia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello everyone,
I am Veljan, Macedonian, BSc in Biochemistry, quite new in CS.
I would describe myself as happy, empathetic, adventorous, always on the move and like to see life from positive side.

MORE ABOUT ME:
I graduated in Biochemistry and after graduating I have done more or less not-so-interesting jobs like blood analysis and one interesting but so so tiring, working in a medical cannabis factory for producing cannabis oil. I felt I needed change, for some people not understandable but it didn't matter.

Different life circumstances led me to shift my interests and find another job in life.

JOB
I started with volunteering in environmental organization in Split, then forming my own running sport association and now I am project coordinator of European environmental, sport and sustainability projects for young and adults in another association.

My daily job now involves writing scenarios for videos about chemistry popularization and cycling, in some of them I am the "actor" :)))

Next, creating new innovative curriculums for circular chemistry and sustainable development. Other aspects are interviewing sports managers, athletes, volunteers, and coaches and after that working on summarizing results, writing all kinds of reports, and participating in creating innovative games for education on topics like chemistry.
And all that with traveling on work meetings in 12 different countries in 2023. For some people, it is weird when I "complain" about work trips, but sometimes is just that: work meeting of a day and a half and waiting at 2-3 airports. Sometimes it is more relaxed like 7-8 days in another country at least with time to go out at night :)))

Now I finished a two months project writing academy after working hours, just to try if I am good enough and creative enough to write a relevant project in the next deadline.

With the start of the 2024 I am also writing Erasmus+ Projects in the field of sport, environment, green skills.

My next goal is to perfect this skill and soon enough to have the opportunity to work from anywhere, because I really admire the people who can have this freedom.

FREE TIME, HOBBIES AND INTERESTS
In my free time, I enjoy reading evolution books, poetry, hiking, long-distance road running and mountain running races. I can say I am always on the move and love meeting new people.

I am born in Kavadarci, the wine capital in Macedonia, home of many small and big wineries. My family has a long tradition of making wine and rakija, not for selling, but to have at home for special occasions. If you host me I can bring you a bottle, as a gift.

Currently, I live in Skopje, but as I mentioned above I have lived in Split, Croatia for one year volunteering in an environmental organization. Once in a month, I go to my hometown, so when visiting Macedonia I can take you to a wine tour in my running mates's small wineries.

I enjoy my me time in nature as ultra trail runner, which means running 60+km on mountain races, but more often than not means that I am more passionate about being in and protecting wild, green and mountainous places than I am the athletic and competitive type of runner.

My goal in the next 5 years is to run 170+km on the world's most prestigous ultra trail: ULTRA TRAIL DU MONT BLANC. But first I need to qualify. :))))

I believe that exercising in natural surroundings is something that connects us to nature and it is something that is able to lift us psychologically.

RANDOM FACTS

Usually not the party person, but I can adapt very easily.

Another thing about me, I have a few instruments at home violin, guitar, as my father is a music teacher, but never tried it myself(never too late!)

I also don't know how to swim and is one of my goals for 2023...or 2024 :))))
Like to dance, but I am NOT very good at it, so let's just skip this part :))))

At the moment I enjoy everything I do, my work and social life is aligned perfectly, so...can't wait to meet like minded people.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Hang out.

Interests

Running, dancing

  • traveling
  • hiking

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: I like music that has a story, history behind it, that you can feel the passion. Pink Floyd is all time favorite, I would say Division Bell is my favorite album, watched every possible documentary, role models forever, despite their differences.

Joy Division is another band that is hard to describe with words but their music is different world.

From the current bands I can separate Molchat Doma from the others (Houses are Silent). Their energy is something else .

https://youtu.be/TrYgmJt8HJA?si=EqhuSvxsFKGS25Du

https://youtu.be/HR5zpFs7YpY?si=ca3ZFJqkQA7Po-vU

Rock, Post punk, Joy Division, David Bowie, Molchat Doma, Porcupine Tree, Pink Floyd, Led Zeppelin.
Sometimes I listen to Depeche Mode, The Smiths also.

Movies: Primal Fear, Pulp Fiction, Eyes Wide Shut, The 6th Sense, Leon the Proffesional, Scent of a Woman.

Books: I love Richard Dawkins's almost every book(he is evolutionary biologist, but explains evolution in so understandable and pleasant way, if you are into science at all, you have to read at least a few of his books, I can reccomend), then Kafka's books, classics, Orwell, Huxley, Dostoyevski. I only don't like self help books.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I develop and am still developing another sport association which i succesfully include in more than 10 Erasmus Projects and I am one of the 5 organizers of running event with more than 700 participants.

I was on ornitological camp in Croatia, amazing learning experience but also bonding with people from Peru, Italy, Croatia, Slovenia interested in bird identification. On top of this out of civilization with no wifi signal. Unbeliveable!

I've been to Who wants to be a millionaire when I was 17 and...it was excellent.

I was sponsored for my races when I was working in the medical cannabis company and I was published as #CbdAthlete :))))) Full story is wild, will tell you when we meet :))))

Teach, Learn, Share

History, languages, experiences and unique stories.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Hanging out.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Montenegro, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

Croatia, Macedonia

Join Couchsurfing to see Veljan’s full profile.