Vera Tolksdorf's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 53% response rate
  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Vera’s full profile.

Overview

  • 8 references 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, German; learning Arabic (Morocco), Russian
  • 23, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • Student, Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Abitur
  • From Meschede, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am currently living in Moscow where I study at HSE as an exchange student. I'm looking forward to exploring the city (and a part of the country) meeting people, trying food and improving my Russian to the level where I stop being scared of глаголы.

I like to cook and to eat and have discussions, am a big fan of card games and always like to learn some new ones.
When travelling I love to meet new people, get to know their favorite parts of their surroundings (be it a cozy bar or their vegetable garden).
I am trying to live as sustainable as possible and am interested in everything that's connected to this. I am still learning about it everyday and love to have an exchange about this topic with people from different backgrounds to hear their opinions and experiences. I also always up for discussions to understand and exchange different points of view.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To me, the nicest part about travelling is meeting people, their friends and how they live and think. In Freiburg my flatmates and I enjoyed to have Couchsurfers over at our place for this reason - basically it is win-win: Everybody has the chance to meet new people and start and exchange. And either it is great and you have won friends or you still have a story to laugh about later.
Unfortunately, right now I live in a dorm where I am not able to host people.

Interests

beekeeping, rock climbing, gardening, knitting, politics

  • politics
  • bouldering
  • hiking
  • sustainability
  • puns
  • rockclimbing
  • spikeball

Music, Movies, and Books

The last books I read (I mostly just start to read any book lying close to me so there's no real common theme)

Amos Oz - A tale of love and darkness
Terry Pratchett- Mort
Buchi Emecheta - Second Class Citizen
Mechtild Borrmann - Trümmerkind
Tahar Ben Jelloun - The Blinding Absence of Light

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I lived in Rabat, Morocco for a year and a half and met the nicest people you could imagine

Teach, Learn, Share

I have a head full of funny anecdotes, can be quite sarcastic and love to share a laugh. I can share my travel experiences and teach you some funny german words. (Futterneid for example means to be jealous of somebody else's food)

What I Can Share with Hosts

There's nearly always a jar of my family's home made honey in my backpack

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Denmark, England, France, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Russian Federation, Spain, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Morocco, Russian Federation

Join Couchsurfing to see Vera’s full profile.

My Groups