Victoria Molenkamp's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 7 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Victoria’s full profile.


  • 6 references 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Italian
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2019
  • Medical researcher/science writer
  • Psychology and neuroscience degree
  • From London, England, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I've lived in South London for twelve years now and would like to share the places I've discovered. My friend has been couchsurfing/hosting for years, and he hosted me in Madrid, making the experience really personalised and welcoming.

Day to day I work 9 to 5 as a medical writer, so split my time between working from home and the studio or office. I started this work as I am fascinated by Psychology and how the brain works. I'm also part of a Psychology podcast club with friends, where we'll pick a podcast to listen to, then meet on zoom to chat about it. There's also the book club I'm in as well, where we often pick female authors across all genres, and focus more on the drinks and snacks than the literature itself....

There's been a few great running events I've attended with a community run club I'm part of - such as the Big Half marathon round south London, marathon festivals in Latvia, Bulgaria and Romania, plus trail runs in the Surrey/Sussex hills. I faceplanted by Lake Windemere on a trail run! But it's all such fun getting out in the countryside and running with people. I was pretty chuffed to walk 26 miles in a day covering the Three Yorkshire Peaks in September 2019. So if you fancy a walk around London, I've sought out interesting routes by the river Thames to stay close to nature and keep on moving.

What else goes on in partner Oliver is a trained actor/clown and we work together to find venues for him to perform his show 'Stick or Wizard?' It's a completely fun hilarious waste of time, and I love meeting other theatre performers and touring Fringe Festivals with the show. It means we rent a studio in Woolwich which is full of weird wacky props and sparkly costumes.

Dogs are a fairly big part of my life, as I made friends initially in London by using Borrow My Doggy where you pair up with dog owners and hang out with their dogs. It means it's a good excuse to play football or fetch in the park, and chat to people you meet.

We chill out a lot and stay in my local area of Deptford. Deptford has a great music and soundsystem scene and the minimal techno/acid house scene is thriving.

Recently we returned from Rishikesh in India, where I got to indulge my love of the vedic traditions, yoga, and cold swimming in the Ganges River. The food was spectacular and I brought home a lot of good quality turmeric to share!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Having a great flat in an easygoing, creative neighbourhood means I am keen to share this with likeminded people who enjoy chilling, exploring and creating. Whether it's a walk by the river, a local event at the fashion college or fringe festival, or a supper club at our friends restaurants, I am keen to share local experiences with couchsurfers. Deptford is a really special, historic place and we've befriended shopkeepers, dogwalkers, wandering musical mistrels, clowns and entrepreneurial designers and restauranteurs. So would love to share this magic.


  • running
  • psychology
  • volunteering
  • art
  • film

Music, Movies, and Books

Minimal techno/acid music - Andrew Weatherall is the prime example.
Quite enjoyed seeing punk bands like Fontaines DC and travel for gigs at different venues.

Film - am part of a horror film club, preferring the psychologically nuanced somewhat sci fi sort, such as Midsommar and Possessor.

A shelf full of diverse books from those about mushrooms, birds, parasites, to feminist poetry, evolutionary psychology and Murakami.

I love dance shows, but there's no category for that. Anything emotionally rousing and intense. We've been to see Punchdrunk's 'The Burnt City' twice now, where you lose yourself in a huge warehouse in which a world of the Greek myths has been created, with actors and performances throughout.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

When travelling to Bali to stay with a friend, I trekked up one of the volcanos at night, and arrived at the summit for sunrise. At the top I got to quietly meditate while watching the sun rise over Mt Batur, and felt really privileged and awestruck.

(I pretty much see awe in everything! Weeds growing out of the wall, graffiti, peoples' expressions, subtle scents of grass...)

Snorkelling in Indonesia also blew my mind as well. Head under water so sounds are muffled, serenely watching almost prehistoric fish fly by.

Recently in 2022 in Canada, it was insanely exhilarating to stage manage the show every night. Counting down to show time, hustling to get everyone in. Cuing the lights and sound. Watching the audience respond to Oli as an actor. If you've not been a part of theatre and fringe theatre specifically, it's a completely human, humbling experience. I felt truly alive and challenged and like I was using my whole capacity as a feeling thinking sensing being.

Teach, Learn, Share

It's cool to converse in different languages. To maybe learn a recipe or about your cultural customs. To listen to the music you love and dance.

I've got two sisters so am a good listener and empathetic, so I will be interested in whatever you want to share with me about your life and passions or challenges or joys.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Over the weekends, we would be happy to host you for Fridays and Saturday nights. Sundays are more about preparing for the week at work, and the week days are too tricky to host because of work schedules and early yoga commitments.

We have a big, light living room where there is a large sofa for one to sleep. If you are two then one can sleep on the floor mattress. We have sheets, sleeping bags and pillows which we wash after each use. We can share the record player to play old and new albums. We can share the kitchen for simple meals or can cook together. The balcony is on the 11th floor so you can sit here and look at the view. The shower in the shared bathroom is available for your use. We can put the washing on and air dry some clothes if you need to wash some things.

Definitely can share great knowledge of London and unusual things to do.

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, France

Join Couchsurfing to see Victoria’s full profile.

My Groups