Vanesa Mabellini's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 20 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Vanesa’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 12 References 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning French, German, Japanese, Russian, Swahili
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • English teacher / AFS Liaison
  • University student
  • From Río Negro, Argentina + Illinois & Washington, DC, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Rediscovering Argentina

ABOUT ME

I like wandering through cities and towns I know nothing about. I love the feeling I get when I find myself in a new place and I start exploring it through my senses, without any prior knowledge of it... being surrounded by completely new faces, sights, languages, fragrances, cultures, and flavors I have never come across before... getting my own perspective of it. I am very friendly, sociable, easy-going and open-minded. When I travel, I always strike conversation with both the tourists I meet there and the locals. I am the kind of person who makes friends on holiday and keeps them for life... I have met some of my closest friends while travelling! I believe meeting new people is a must when you're visiting a new place... looking back, they're such an important part of the whole experience, your memories of that trip just wouldn't be the same without them!

PHILOSOPHY

Differences make the world richer! Get to know people of every race, culture, religion and sexual orientation. We're all great for being exactly who we are. Be yourself.

Reduce, recycle, upcycle... take care of the planet! It's the only home we have.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I might not always be able to host you, but if I can't, I might still be able to show you around and hang out, depending on my schedule. :) I do not accept requests from people with no references for safety reasons.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I tried couchsurfing for the first time in Cardiff in 2012, and it was great! I had an amazing time and my host (Helly) was extremely nice, friendly, funny, helpful, and fun to be with. :) She was an incredible host and I hope she'll get the chance to repay the visit someday! :) I just hosted my first couchsurfer, and I had just as great a time being a host as I did being a surfer. I thoroughly enjoyed spending time with Linda, showing her my city and its surroundings, getting to know more about the Netherlands, and cooking with her. I hope she'll come back someday! :) I haven't been doing a lot of travelling lately, but I'm hoping to travel more in the future, and to be able to host more couchsurfers as well.

Interests

Languages, archery, cooking, meeting new people, learning new things about different cultures. Love the outdoors (don't expect vertical mountain climbing, though! lol) and otherwise will enjoy anything from an epic adventure to an evening in front of the T.V.

  • animals
  • culture
  • dining
  • cooking
  • flying
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • archery
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

There are just too many genres that I like... It would be close to impossible to decide on a favorite book, song or film. I don't like horror movies, though.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have been fortunate enough to see and experience some amazing things, especially while travelling and living abroad. I have lived with people from four different cultures and learned a lot from them (I spent over a year with each.) I particularly enjoyed a 3.5-month trip around Europe I took in 2011-2012... looking back, I can say every second of it was perfect (even the bad moments!.) But if I had to pick one thing, it would have to be the northern lights in Iceland--- it's worth sitting in the snow for hours just to gaze at them! Also, I managed to survive on a budget of only £20 total for food during my last 10 days in the UK (albeit not intentionally... I had some unexpected problems)-- and while sticking to healthy food from every food group, too... that has got to be my greatest achievement--- there's no beating that! ;)

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm a good cook (according to my friends) and a language buff, so I can teach you how to make a few dishes and say a couple of things in different languages :) On Saturdays I usually spend the afternoon outdoors doing archery with my friends, so I can maybe show you how to shoot an arrow if you're around on a Saturday afternoon. :) (We shoot targets, not animals, BTW)

What I Can Share with Hosts

A place to stay, and a friend for life! :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Netherlands, Scotland, Sweden, United States, Vatican City State, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Argentina, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Vanesa’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups