wallpaper's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see wallpaper’s full profile.


  • 45 references 38 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Italian; learning Chinese, French, Sign Language - American, Spanish
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Montessori Assistant Teacher
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Right now I'm trying to have genuine interactions with other people in all aspects of my life. (My success with this varies.)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love traveling, and I try to center my experiences around nature and human interaction, not mindless consumption. I find that when I travel this way (WWOOFing, hitchhiking, trekking, camping, couchsurfing, dumpster diving, etc) it is much more rewarding.

I really resent the commercialization of couchsurfing. I'm on Trustroots and BeWelcome (same username), which I think are much more ethical platforms.


intentional communities, adventures, linguistics, people watching, poetry readings, vegan cooking, dumpster diving, quakers, cinema, politics, ethics, debate, public libraries, board games, abandoned buildings, astrology, midwifery, permaculture, swimming holes, crafting, reading, feminism, womyn's space, stealth camping, urban planning, NPR, theology, yoga

  • ethics
  • cooking
  • vegan
  • gardening
  • reading
  • dumpster diving
  • spoken word
  • backpacking
  • hitchhiking
  • adventure
  • intentional communities
  • pedagogy
  • tarot
  • organic farming
  • solidarity
  • radical feminism

Music, Movies, and Books

Favorite nonfiction genres: feminist theory, lesbian feminist theory, pedagogy, poetry, political theory, philosophy, theology

Some of my all time favorite works of fiction include:
Bastard out of Carolina, Their Eyes Were Watching God, Bless Me Ultima, Woman on the Edge of Time, Aquamarine, A Map of Home, The Miseducation of Cameron Post, Roots, The Bean Trees, Ender's Game series, Harry Potter series, The Unbearable Lightness of Being

Music: I'm really into learning simple traditional folk songs lately. Let's exchange some!

Movies: lots of independent and international films. Waking Life, City of God, But I'm a Cheerleader, etc.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I spent over a year of my life working with people who have developmental disabilities, which changed many of my perspectives.

I've also hitchhiked alone quite extensively, which I was frightened to do at first.

I recently spent a month at the Oceti Sakowin camp near Standing Rock. It was a radical and profound experience to put into practice the ideas nonviolent civil disobedience and weaponizing white privilege.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm willing to share/teach just about anything I know- baking yeasted breads, card games, tips for picking up a language, etc. I can read your tarot!
I'm especially interested in learning more about organic gardening, vegan baking, bicycle maintenance, wood working, train hopping, survival skills, Krav Maga, programming, and squatting.

What I Can Share with Hosts

An adventure!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Palestine, Poland, Sweden, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Israel, Italy, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see wallpaper’s full profile.

My Groups