Nicola Andrewes's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Nicola’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 22 References 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Korean, Spanish
  • 35, Female
  • Member since 2006
  • disability support worker
  • uni BA/ different teachers/ travelling/ employment's rang...
  • From Northland, New Zealand
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

exploring Australia and enjoying living a beautiful rural life amongst the gum trees

ABOUT ME

I've moved to OZ over two years ago to start up life with a lovely man named Cam. We met in New Zealand whilst doing a Wilderness First Responder Course and after a quality long distance- letter filled romance and another major Christchurch NZ earthquake decided to have a crack at happiness together up in the Colo Valley of NSW. So far so excellent.

PHILOSOPHY

If you can't be good be interesting.
If I can't make a major decision I use tarot cards/flip coins.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've hosted a bit, surfed a bit, met up for coffee and made some amazing friends from random csing meetings and greetings. Guatemala was a turning point in internet csing for me because of meeting a former ambassador (Travis) who got me all revved up and psyched about utilising csing to meet up with awesome people even if you can't host them. I found it was a kickass way to meet up with climbers when I was living in Christchurch NZ and needed weekday climbing partners.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

began randomly and unofficially a few years ago with various experiences around Southern Africa, Europe (western), Britain, NZ (my 'home'land) bit of the Middle east, bits of Asia, parts of north and central america...i've spent a fair bit of time on old and new friends 'couches' and it's been great to have people on mine. last year I got more into meeting up with people traveling through and living in Christchurch and made some awesome friends who I wouldn't have met if it wasn't for couchsurfing.

Interests

playing in the sea, hanging by small fires, getting up mountains, silly jokes, playing with words/sounds, going to small folk music festivals, all people, animals- especially dogs and snakes, trees, climbing trees/rocks, learning about holistic living, vegetarian cooking. Making connections.

  • animals
  • dogs
  • music festivals
  • festivals
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • coffee
  • vegetarian
  • traveling
  • crochet
  • magic
  • music
  • folk music
  • sailing
  • rock climbing
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

I like music that makes me feel something, especially happiness. I don't like scary/uber violent movies. I like reading non-fiction books about things i'm into (cooking, religions (especially by Karen Armstrong), art, climbing, environmentalism, different ways of living and perceiving things)and my favourite non fiction authors at the moment are Tim Winton and Isabella Allende.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Solo walk for a few days down the Malawi lake coastline years ago.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to crochet, cook crazy vege stews, not cook raw deserts, make sour dough bread, belay (rock climbing).
I want to learn how to sail and speak spanish with as much creativity as I mangle the english language and I want to know more about myself, herbs and magic.
I like sharing stories, recipes, random pieces of information and jokes. I know the best joke not to use in an airport and why African elephants have big ears.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Canada, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Netherlands, Palestine, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Swaziland, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

New Zealand, South Korea, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    4 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Nicola’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups