Sadam Wapande's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sadam’s full profile.

Overview

  • 52 references 44 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Swahili, Turkish; learning German
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Mechanical engineer
  • University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

SHORT BACKGROUND

- Born in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania and currently living in Stuttgart, Germany.
- Lived in Turkey for 6 years (studied B.S. in Mechanical engineering). Speaks Turkish like a native (my Turkish friends say so).
- I like travelling (like many of us here), snowboarding (don't be surprised how can African do this sport) and photography (with my Nexus 6p smartphone).

I became a traveller and world citizen during my Erasmus semester in Germany back in 2013 (wow, it's 6 years already ago). Erasmus helped me to learn new cultures, met new people (some of them are like my family now). So far I already visited 34 countries (32 of them are European countries if you include Turkey as European country) and more than 40 towns in Turkey (Turkey is my 2nd home country, a country I spent more than 20% of my life).

CURRENT MISSION:

Visiting as many European countries as my residence permit allows me (without killing my account balance).

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I believe there are still many good people in the world and CS is one of the platforms which helps me meeting them. So far every CS experience I had is beyond my expectations.

Interests

İ am interested in learning new cultures, new languages especially some basic phrases in foreign languages , meet people from all around the world.

  • photography
  • hiking
  • snowboarding
  • hitchhiking
  • learning foreign languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Favourite Movie: Captain America: Civil War
Favourite Books: Sean and Maxwell series (by D.Baldacci), The Alchemist, Eleven minutes (by Paolo Coehlo), Born a crime (by trevor Noah)
Favourite kinds of music: African music (of course)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

İn 2013, during my solo trip to Italy, my bag was stolen in the night train while travelling from Verona to Venice with my passport, Turkish resident permit, iPad and clothes inside.
Nevertheless, I continued with my travel plan to Rome via Florence and Pisa as if nothing happened (to be honest I cried like a baby soon after realizing my bag was stolen).
Even I got one of my best smiling photos from Florence (You can find it in my photos).
In the next 4 weeks, I travelled back to Berlin from Roma, applied for my new passport, German permit and Turkish visa (and returned to Turkey on the same day my permit expired).

Teach, Learn, Share

I am good in Turkish and Swahili (my mother language), probably you know at least two Swahili words from lion kings (HAKUNA MATATA=No PROBLEM). I can teach you more...
I can share with you some of my 1001 travelling stories, good or bad ones, they will just flow.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am good at cooking and baking. I can cook for you some Tanzania dishes or some Turkish dishes.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Kenya, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Montenegro, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Tanzania, Turkey

Join Couchsurfing to see Sadam’s full profile.