Joel Dillard's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 50% response rate
  • Last login about 7 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Joel’s full profile.


  • 12 references 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Japanese
  • 37, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Ask
  • Real Estate
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To help others as I would want other to help me.


I am told I am a very positive person, I would like to keep it that way. Yet...I can only be extroverted for so long then I burn out. I love to volunteer and help where it's needed. I would rather play a sport than watch it on tv.


What makes it possible for me to live in this disorderly world, even though I crave another kind. But there can be no other kind. I can complain, or appreciate what I have here. So The world is very much like my family, filled with people of unharnessed passions, illogical impulses, inconsistent religions, and clashing philosophies of all things meant to be born in the moment of our awakening. How hard it is to find the good in people and not the bad? This is why I value people in couch surfing, people you tend to meet traveling find value in themselves more than those who never travel, this positive energy is contagious and motivates my ass to get out there... Where I feel more authentic... traveling the world discovering self.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I don't mind giving someone a place to stay for the night or two. It just depends if I'm home or not. I have a place on the east coast too in NC. I'm over in west Covina, about 15 to 20 min from down town LA.


I have stayed with one couch surfer in Egypt, she is the kindest soul I know. You can find her in my friends list if you want to visit Egypt too. Don't expect a free trip. Going to India in August as well as Nepal, Bhutan, Phuket, and Taiwan.... feel free to advise me on any tips...


Everything, hiking, dance, snowboard, skating, crafts, animals, cooking, swimming, camping, relaxing is a good one. Especially rollerskating. Tell me you want to learn country dancing and it's on... lol Love to exchange style of cooking.

  • dancing
  • clothing
  • hiking
  • snowboarding
  • sports
  • religion
  • tourism
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies> August Rush, Peaceful Warrior
Books> Any by Ann Rice, OR James Patterson

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Soon dong cave! Just wow!

Teach, Learn, Share

How to use compass and map. how to Dance..meaning country or bachata. How to travel without spending a fortune.
Wish more people wanted to play board or card games by the way...

What I Can Share with Hosts

A private room for a few nights in east LA, about 20 min from downtown amd 40 from the coast. 30 min from big bear.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bhutan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cambodia, Canada, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Egypt, England, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kuwait, Laos, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Maldives, Mexico, Montenegro, Nepal, Netherlands, Palestine, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Japan, Poland

Join Couchsurfing to see Joel’s full profile.

My Groups