Viera Valentová Bugáňová's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 66% response rate
  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Viera’s full profile.


  • 115 references 81 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Slovak, Spanish
  • 36, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • parenting and trying to stay sane :)
  • International relations and political science
  • From Banská Bystrica, Banská Bystrica, Slovakia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

hey there,

we are a family of four (Viera+Peter+Linda 3yrs and Petra 1yr).

We didn't really host during the past 3 years because of my pregnancies and parenthood and the pandemic etc. Now we would like to slowly restart our CS carrer but would like to take it slowly :) Anyway, drop me a message if you are considering visiting our region and we will see what we can offer :)

If I cannot host you because of various reasons, you can try to contact my good friend (, she lives in a very nice area near Detva (about 50 km from Banska) and you will have your own house when surfing her place!

I am still a big fan of CS or rather of the initial idea but I am slowly moving into newer and non-profit hospitality networks, so you will definitely impress me more if you contact me via these websites: or


you can check some traveling stories from our trips here: (articles in Slovak and English:
and my Slovak blog is here:


Honestly, I am an alien! But I am not at all dangerous, most of the time I am friendly, nice, hospitable and other bullshits :-D


Impossible is nothing

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


☼ ☼ ☼ Obligatory surfing and hosting ☼ ☼ ☼

☼ ☼ ☼ CouchSurfing community used to be great! I had the chance to go to some regular or irregular CS events in Istanbul, New York City, Kuala Lumpur, Quito and Bratislava and it was all amazing☼ ☼ ☼


Surfed :
-Alcides in Asuncion, Paraguay (February 2018) via TrustRoots
-Mavi in Lima, Peru (November 2017)
-Augusto in Lima, Peru (November 2017)-via TrustRoots
-Ene and the crew, Cuenca, Ecuador (August 2017)
-Josue and Lloyd in Latacunga, Ecuador (June 2017)
-Anna, Christoph, Karl in Neusiedl am See, Austria (July 2016)
- Nikola in Košice, Slovakia (March 2015)
- Rene in Manila, Philippines (October 2014)
- Jopz and Christian in Legazpi, Philippines (October 2014)
- Jaypee in Ticao island, Philippines (September 2014)
- Rhayne in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia (September 2014)
- Ali in Kuala Terengganu, Malaysia (September 2014)
- Mark in Kuantan, Malaysia(September 2014)
- Peh from Kuantan, Malaysia (September 2014)
- Prakash from Kathmandu, Nepal (June 2014)
- Rajan from Biratnagar, Nepal (June 2014)
- Pedro from Lisbon, Portugal (January 2014)
- Clemens from Salzburg, Austria (November 2013)
- Tim from New York City, United States (February 2013)
- Vincenzo from Milan, Italy (February 2013)
- Alessio from Milan, Italy (November 2012)
- Juris from Riga, Latvia (November 2012)
- Zuzanna in Riga, Latvia (November 2012)
- Gil in Tel Aviv, Israel (August 2012)
- Eldar from Tel Aviv, Israel (August 2012)
- Assaf in Eilat, Israel (August 2012)
- Hamad and Ali from Aqaba, Jordan (August 2012)
- Ghassab from Petra, Jordan (August 2012)
- Yotam from Jerusalem, Israel (July 2012)
- Khaled from Nazareth, Israel (July 2012)
- Rado in Istanbul, Turkey (June 2012)
- Emilios from Larnaka Cyprus (June 2012)
- Burcin in Nicosia, Cyprus (June 2012)
- Abdullah from Gaziantep, Turkey (June 2012)
- Halil from Sanliurfa, Turkey (June 2012)
- Baris from Mardin, Turkey (June 2012)
- Hasan from Diarbakir, Turkey ( June 2012 )
- Ercan in Malatya, Turkey ( June 2012 )
- Ethem and his family from Goreme, Turkey ( June 2012)
- Devrim from Ankara, Turkey ( June 2012 )
- Ali in Istanbul, Turkey (May, June 2012)
- Korhan from Izmir, Turkey ( May 2012 )
- Tugrul in Denizli, Turkey (May 2012)
- Umut and Funda from Izmir, Turkey ( May 2012 )
- Irem from Bursa, Turkey ( April 2012 )
- Janka from Olomouc, Czech Republic ( January 2012 )
- Evelien from Krakow, Poland (December 2011 )
- Carmen from Mexico City, Mexico ( September 2011 )
- Dave from Los Angeles, USA ( June 2011 )
- Pascal in Santa Brigida,Gran Canaria, Spain ( March 2011 )
- Gratzi and Jagoba from Las Palmas,Gran Canaria, Spain( March 2011 )
- Jeff from Philadelphia, USA (September 2010)
- Alice from As, Norway ( April 2010 )
- Moritz from As, Norway (April 2010)
- Arne from Fredrikstad, Norway (March 2010)
- Nicolò from Bologna, Italy (January 2010)
- Joris from Haarlem, Netherlands (January 2010)
- Keith from Boston, USA (September 2009)
- Anne from Montreal, Canada (September 2009)

Hosted :
- Adelaidet and Martin from Bolivia and Germany (January 2020)
- Monika from Prague Czech republic (June 2019)
-Rafael and Filipe from around Lisbon, Portugal (February 2019)
-Philippe from Paris, France (April 2018)
- Eva from Lancaster, the United Kingdom (January 2017)
-Gosia from Melbourne, Australia (May 2015)
-Vicky and Alex from Canada and United Kingdom (April 2015)
-Jill and Mandy from Taiwan (March 2015)
-Nina from Georgia and Brian from the USA (July 2013)
-Anna and Kasia from Poznan, Poland (April 2013)
- Ofer from Jerusalem, Israel (September 2012)
- Stephan and Fritz from Vienna, Austria (December 2011)
- Janka and Lenka from Olomouc, Czech Republic (December 2011)
- Davide from Italy, Mira from Denmark, Linnea from Sweden (April, 2011)
- Johann, Xsenia, Fannette from France (March 2011)
- Janez and his friend from Slovenia (January 2011)
- Roshni from the USA (January 2011)
- Misko from Limbach, Slovakia (November 2010)
-Hernan from Argentina/Great Britain (October 2010)
- Maxime from France (April 2010)
- Julia from Brazil/England (March 2010)
- Benjamin and Denis from Heidelberg, Germany (February2010)
- Marti from Barcelona, Spain/Catalonia (November 2009)
- Laura and Maarten from Utrecht, Netherlands (October 2009)


☼ ☼ ☼ I love many things such as traveling, art, architecture, literature, sport - mostly outdoor, music, good food like eggplant and fish, avocado and all vegetarian meals ! I enjoy going to the concerts, hitchhiking, hiking and all crazy and extraordinary things

  • arts
  • culture
  • literature
  • architecture
  • concerts
  • dining
  • vegetarian
  • partying
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • surfing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • sports
  • hitchhiking
  • volunteering
  • tours
  • sightseeing

Music, Movies, and Books

***Movies: when I was at high school my favourite movie was Trainspotting, Pulp Fiction and Kill Bill. I still like this kind of movies but I am interested in old films too, some movies with Charlie Chaplin ( The Dictator, Modern Times ). La dolce vita, Doctor Zhivago, Sophies´s choice. And of course I like to watch some slovak and czech films ( unfortunately, there is not too much, I hope that the situation is getting better :)and nowadays I really prefer some politically engaged movies and documents

*** Music: I looove electronic and world music and concerts and music festivals in general. Went to Pohoda festival (biggest music event in Slovakia) twice as a volunter-it was amazing! Right after I went to Sziget festival in Budapest (considered to be the greatest festival in central Europe and it was unbelievable! later in 2018 I was in EXIT festival in Novi Sad (Serbia). I went to Coldplay concert in Los Angeles back in 2011. One of the best music event ever! I looove Slovak and Czech music bands. I used to listen Nirvana and Metallica during high school years and now I turned more into electronic. However I also like oldies and world music.

*** Books: I really love reading books ! Since my childhood I consider myself as a bookworm.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

☼ ☼ ☼ traveling across India by night trains and lost my suitcase

☼ ☼ ☼ volunteering in an organic farm in Hong Kong

☼ ☼ ☼ one month of pure backpacking in the Philippines

☼ ☼ ☼ 2 months volunteering in a backpacker hostel in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia and then 3 weeks of pure backpacking through the region

☼ ☼ ☼ 5 months volunteering in Nepali lowlands and exploring local culture + 2 weeks trekking in Himalayas (Kanchenjunga)

☼ ☼ ☼ 10 days of Winter Outdoor Activity Training in pure Latvian wilderness ! Sleeping outside in a tent and igloo, Crazy cross-country skiing, snowboarding, getting lost and much more :-D

☼ ☼ ☼ Volunteering in Israel and Jordan during the summer 2012 full of adventures, sleeping under the stars in Petra and Wadi Rum in Jordan, snorchelling in Red Sea in Israel and much more

☼ ☼ ☼ 2-weeks long hitchhiking and CS Turkey/Cyprus trip with two other friends. We started in Istanbul and ended in Cyprus. On the road, we met loads of crazy people and had an amazing time ! And we survived three earthquakes in Turkey !

☼ ☼ ☼ During my university exchange programme in Istanbul 2012, I survived 4 months at the very religious dormitory with really strict rules and curfew at 8:30pm !

☼ ☼ ☼ Solotrip to Mexico City in September 2011 and the whole summer in Los Angeles :-)

☼ ☼ ☼ Summer 2010 when I lived and worked in Brooklyn was really excellent, so many interesting encounters happened there and I fell in love with New York City !

☼ ☼ ☼ I was a solo-hitchhiker and I visited some nice places in Vermont, Montreal, Boston, NYC and Cape Cod during the summer 2009 when I was 21 and it was awesome !!

☼ ☼ ☼ Hitchhiking through Western Europe in summer 2007. It was really great experience. We met many kind people. I would like to repeat it !

☼ ☼ ☼ During summer 2006 I worked in Panasonic factory in Pilsen, Czech republic, where we produced plasma TV´s with very nice name - VIERA !

Teach, Learn, Share

I can share some recommendations on how to hitchhike in all different situations ( for now, I hitchhiked in about 25 countries). How to do extra low budget trips, how to sleep at the airports and other usefull things :-D and I learned how to build an igloo, so we can make one :-D

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Colombia, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Ecuador, France, Georgia, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Kosovo, Latvia, Macedonia, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Palestine, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Czech Republic, Malaysia, Nepal, Slovakia, Turkey, United States

Old School Badges

  • 7 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Viera’s full profile.

My Groups