Dimitri Vergé's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dimitri’s full profile.

Overview

  • 67 references 49 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Russian, Spanish
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Education
  • Some
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Wandering and wondering

ABOUT ME

I am a tall, beardy, down-to-earth french teacher and diving guide - at the moment working in Malé, Maldives with the Alliance Française.

I guess I got infected by the bug of traveling by my adventurous parents , who bored me with their traveling stories when I was young - my turn now!

What I love the most about traveling is randomness and unplanned situations. I traveled a lot by hitchhiking, which is quite similar to CS in many ways: to travel, meet loads of great people you'd never meet by taking the train or staying at the hotel, have a lot of fun and plenty of good memories; besides the fact that you travel cheap that way, this is for me the best way you can ever travel, if you're fine with getting out of your comfort zone for a while !

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Hosting, surfing... You can check the CSexperiences below.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Nice ones !

Interests

Movies, climbing, literature, hiking, diving, linguistics, board games...

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Oldies from the 40's, new stuff, each period has its fascinating masterpieces. Favorite directors, let's say Kubrick, the Coen Brothers, Joseph Mankiewicz, John Carpenter, Terrence Malick, Hitchcock, Scorsese, Cronenberg, Herzog, Clouzot, Jim Jarmush...

Music: Mostly electronic music these days

Books: classics, French (Stendhal, Rousseau, Chaderlos de Laclos, Zola) but also other coutries, Spanish with Cervantes, and especially Russian (Tolstoi, Dostoiesvski, Tchekov, Turgeniev...)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hitchhiking around Europe (Toulouse-Oslo back and forth, Toulouse-Istanbul, Toulouse-Moscow through the North Cape of Norway) and further (Toulouse-Tokyo)
Amazing places, nicest people, greatest memories...

Teach, Learn, Share

My flatmate told me that I need to learn how to cook. Maybe she's right, even if I'm sometimes pretty happy with my frozen pizzas. I can teach you french language (I even have a degree for that), how to climb (not in my flat, though) or how to grow a beard (will take some time) We can share a lot of things, and we surely can share a beer !

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Argentina, Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Benin, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Côte d'Ivoire, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Guinea, Hungary, Iceland, India, Iran, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Malaysia, Maldives, Morocco, Netherlands, Nigeria, Norway, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Senegal, Serbia, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Uzbekistan

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, India, Maldives, Morocco, Nigeria, Norway, Russian Federation, Tanzania, Uganda

Join Couchsurfing to see Dimitri’s full profile.

My Groups