Yasoob Khalid's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 4 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Yasoob’s full profile.

Overview

  • 31 references 14 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Hindi, Panjabi, Punjabi, Pashto, Pushto, Urdu; learning Arabic, German, Hungarian
  • 22, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • Software Engineer at Microsoft
  • Colgate University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi everyone! 👋 I am Yasoob from Pakistan and I recently finished my bachelors in the US from Colgate University (a small liberal arts university in Upstate New York). I have a huge passion for programming and making stuff. My interest led me to publish two books and present at one of the biggest programming conferences in Europe.

Edit: I am completely vaccinated as of 6th April 2021.

The other thing I love the most is arts. I do it as a hobby and was actually a part of a world record for painting the biggest flag of any country! Drawing and painting helps me relax :)

I have traveled quite a bit (but sadly still not as much as I would want to) and have sooo many stories which I am eager to share with other people. I am also an outdoorsy person. I love running and playing football and racquetball.

After countless trips the one thing I learned about myself is that I love nature more than I love buildings and I love talking to people from different countries and listening to their stories more than sightseeing.

I am in between places but will soon start hosting again in Seattle! :)

P.S: I don't drink but I don't need to drink to have fun and a good time :)

Website: https://yasoob.me
Instagram: http://instagram.com/yasoobkhalid/

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love meeting local people. I believe that every person we meet is an opportunity for us to learn something new and so far I have learned a ton from all the wonderful people I have met through CS. Through this platform I hope to get a real feel for different places and cultures by meeting and living with the local people.

If you think the same then I am pretty sure we will get along just fine :)

Interests

  • books
  • ballroom dancing
  • movies
  • outdoor activities
  • racquetball
  • swimming
  • football
  • programming

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: They change pretty frequently. My recent favourite is 40 Rules of Love.

Movies: Same goes for movies. Changes with time. Recent favorite is Man from U.N.C.L.E

Music: Coldplay, Simple Plan, Backstreet Boys. Love old music

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I am so sorry it is hard for me to list only one thing.

- Jumped off a pier into the ocean and snorkeled around only to later find out that people have sighted sharks in those waters before :'D
- Roamed around on a scooter on the Vieques island in Puerto Rico
- Did scuba diving
- Made a world record as part of a team by painting the world's largest flag
- Published a book read by more than 3 million people and translated into 4 languages
- Kayaked in the magical bioluminescent bay in Puerto Rico
- Attended a Rockin1000 concert. A thousand people from all over sang and played instruments on an airport runway in Milan
- Saw the northern lights 🤩

Teach, Learn, Share

I love exploring a place with a local and can share my love for exploring. I love teaching programming and can be the tech support you always wished you had xD

I can also share news and stories about Pakistan and try to dispel the myths you might have heard about the area. If you ever plan on visiting Pakistan I can also offer you a couch there. Just ask!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Interesting travel stories from 14+ different countries, Pakistani food and my passion about everything else I have listed above.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bahrain, Canada, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Mexico, Monaco, Norway, Pakistan, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Saudi Arabia, Slovakia, South Korea, Sweden, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Hungary, Pakistan, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Yasoob’s full profile.

My Groups