Zachary  Leibowitz's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Zachary ’s full profile.

Overview

  • 36 references 19 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Portuguese; learning Spanish
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Environmental Specialist
  • Masters in Ecologia de Biomas Tropicais, Universidade Fed...
  • From Boulder, CO, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To learn, educate and entertain.

ABOUT ME

I recently finished a Master's degree in Ecology at a university in the Southeast of Brazil. Just moved to Melbourne, FL for work and I am trying to meet some new people and see the sights. I am also excited to open up my house for those traveling through.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

While I am traveling: I love to meet new people, especially locals, and get to know their city and culture and see it from their perspective . When at home: I love to show people my city and explore new places with new friends.

Interests

  • documentaries
  • mexican food
  • politics
  • movies
  • traveling
  • hip-hop music
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sports
  • basketball
  • american football
  • hockey
  • lacrosse
  • beaches
  • nature
  • football
  • brazil
  • frisbee
  • south america
  • latin america

Music, Movies, and Books

I basically love all music (except maybe Country) but my favorites are old school hip-hop and electronic.

I really like Comedies. Anything with Will Farrell, Sacha Baron Cohen, Dave Chapelle, Adam Sandler, Chris Farley and Chris Rock.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hiked Maderas. An inactive volcano with cloud forest on Isla De Ometepe in the center of Lake Nicaragua.

Took a 2 week boat trip down the Amazon River from Manaus to Santerem.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am passionate about what I studied - Environmental Studies, Ecology, Hydrology, Geology and Geography. Also, after spending a bit more than a month volunteering and living in Favela da Rocinha (Rio's largest favela/slum), social projects interest me a lot. I hope to someday create a project of my own in the often overlooked northern region of Brazil. However I accomplish it, I plan to help others, and be a part of the positive change this world needs.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Great stories and a great attitude. Also, if someone is nice enough to host me, I try to bring a cultural present (usually food or drink).

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Barbados, Belize, Brazil, Canada, Cayman Islands, Costa Rica, Dominica, El Salvador, France, Gibraltar, Grenada, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Jordan, Mexico, Monaco, Morocco, Nicaragua, Panama, Puerto Rico, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Spain, Suriname, Uruguay, Vatican City State, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, United States

Old School Badges

  • 2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Zachary ’s full profile.

My Groups