Fernanda Rivas's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Fernanda’s full profile.

Overview

  • 38 references 28 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning French, German
  • 40, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Director General at a Mexican sustainability think tank
  • M.Sc. in Environmental Studies in Europe. B.Sc. in Enviro...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

READY TO REOPEN SURFING
New house, new couch, new surfing season!

CURRENT MISSION
Opening my home to anybody who is escaping war.

ABOUT ME
My name is Fernanda, I am a travel and adventure addict and love love to meet people near and far.

I am the director and founder of a sustainability think tank in Mexico and I don't often enter Couchsurfing as I used to, but if I am around town, you are all welcome :-)

I don't drink alcohol, I don't smoke, I don't do drugs and don't watch TV but I have no problem with hanging around people who do as long as they don't insist on me joining, you will see I can be quite entertaining fully sober!

PHILOSOPHY
I am in love with the complexity of life and the universe. My heart tells me humans are inherently good and I like both kind words and kind actions. I am a scientist that finds faith and belief extremely interesting and true. Both my brain and my heart are pretty powerful, but in a fight, my heart ends up winning.

One of my favorite quotes is:
Ever Try
Ever Fail
No Matter
Try Again
Fail Again
Fail Better
-Samuel Beckett

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

BECAUSE PEOPLE ARE GOOD
And because people make experiences richer and deeper. I am not on Couchsurfing for free accommodation (even though most of us began like that), but because I've found that sharing a new place with someone who lives there makes the trip 100x worthier, both for the traveler and the host.

Interests

My favorite part of each day is cycling with my dog and my cat; we do 10 km every day.
Planet Earth
Trees
Humankind and its social expressions (arts, politics, entertainment, values)
Languages around the world and beautiful sounding words
Religious views
Sharing cooking and a meal
Being outside moving

  • cats
  • dogs
  • arts
  • photography
  • dancing
  • environment
  • cooking
  • drinking
  • politics
  • tv
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • opera
  • surfing
  • languages

Teach, Learn, Share

I would love to learn new languages and international cooking. I like it when somebody teaches me practical stuff, such as how to fix a car, new corners of my city or how to distinguish edible wild mushrooms from the poisonous ones.

I absolutely adore to teach! Here my thing is: Spanish, dancing, anything environmentally-scientific related, speaking funny accents, Mexico, cross-stitching.

What I Can Share with Hosts

House chores, stories, I can bring you a postcard from where I live and if you're adventurous I can cook for you a bit!

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Egypt, England, Gibraltar, Greece, Iceland, India, Israel, Italy, Kenya, Madagascar, Netherlands, Norway, Panama, Peru, Portugal, Serbia, Slovenia, Sweden, Thailand, Turkey, United States, Venezuela, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Denmark, Germany, Mexico, Spain

Old School Badges

  • 2 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Fernanda’s full profile.

My Groups