Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 91% response rate
  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Zack’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 183 References 94 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Outdoor Educator, Sailing Captain, Sea Kayak Enthusiast, ...
  • Honours Bachelor of Outdoor Recreation, Parks and Tourism...
  • From Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To share great experiences and network with people through this awesome community!


***I am currently working full time mon-fri. I can try my best to host you but sometimes my schedule is busy with others things around work and I have to turn down people. Preference will be given to those with complete profiles and who write me a nice personal message as to why they would want to stay with me. 1 week notice is good amount of time to msg me.***

I am a person who is very easy to get along with, practical, open-minded, passionate and down to earth. I love to have fun, especially spending time outside adventuring with good people and discovering new and interesting places.

Last year I completed a 40,000km road trip around Australia, and I had a visit for an international sea kayak education symposium in Hong Kong.

Since January 2016 I have moved back to Thunder Bay and I have been hosting people when I can.

I've been very fortunate to have done lots of traveling and working in some really unique and wild places around the world. Over the past 10 years I've had the pleasure to work contracting myself out in the world of outdoor education in Canada, USA, Mexico, Panama, Chile, and Australia.

From October 2012 to October 2013 I lived on a 53ft sailboat named Ketch Karaka ( I bought some nice sea kayaks and we traveled from Baja California Sur, Mexico to Costa Rica via the remote island of Isla del Coco. Then left and worked in Panama on Isla Coiba Guiding Kayak trips for a few months before meeting the boat again in Panama City to set forth to the Pacific Islands of French Polynesia where we spent 3 months in the Marquesas, Tuamotus, and Society Islands absorbing the island culture and doing lots of kayaking. My visa expired mid October 2013 about two weeks before i could have left on a another boat to sail toward NZ/AUS.

Luckily i connected with an awesome paddling gurus on the Island of Moorea in French Polynesia and sold him my kayaks for a good deal and he's starting a sea kayaking tour business called Kayak Nomad Polynesia

So i had a blast traveling around New Zealand for 2.5 months and since January 2014 I have been living it up working for different outdoor education companies in Australia and traveling in between usually sharing my car with other couchsurfers.

I went back to Canada for July/August 2014 and did some nice kayak trips, visited friends and family and now i am set up with a nice folding expedition kayak thanks to TRAK kayaks and i am keen to find other like-minded people interested in paddling expeditions around the world.

All in all...I love to learn as much as i can about where i travel, the people i meet, and i places i live. I think it is important to develop a connection to everything around you.

To find out more about me and some of my adventures please check out my blog at: It is a little out of date other than my bass strait kayak trip i still need to update it on my travels in AUS and NZ

I do manage to keep most of my photos up to date and you can check them out here:


I believe in Karma, be good to people and people will be good to you.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have lived the lifestyle for years. I have hosted many people since May 2008 whenever I am living somewhere and have space to host and it has been excellent, meeting really great people and sharing great experiences. I have hosted so many people i can't list them on here unfortunately. I started off hosting in Thunder Bay, Ontario Canada for a number of years but also hosted quite a few people in Puerto Bertrand, Patagonia Aysen, Chile and in Santa Catalina Panama I have kept better track of everyone i have surfed with and i am forever grateful to you all:

I have now surfed with:

Bill in Duluth MN, USA
Caitlyn in Montreal QC, Canada
Malika in Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Brenda in Jasper, AB, Canada
Geneva in Campbell River, BC, Canada
Deb and Dave on Guemes Island outside Anacortes WA, USA
Dean and Vicki in Thunder Bay, ON, Canada
Steph and Emma in Montreal, QC, Canada
Kelie and James in Quebec City, QC, Canada
Casey in Halifax, NS, Canada
Jenna in St Johns, NL, Canada
Annaliese in Boulder, CO, USA
Josh in Moab, UT, USA
Kaifu in Seattle WA, USA
Katie in Thunder Bay, ON, Canada
Kelsey in Thunder Bay, ON, Canada
Josh in Winnipeg, MN, Canada
Neil in Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Anna in Cabo San Lucas, BCS, Mexico
Ney in San Jose del Cabo, BCS, Mexico
Bill in Mulege, BCS, Mexico
Staci in Puerto San Carlos, BCS, Mexico
Mabilia in La Paz, BCS, Mexico
Carlos in San Jose, Costa Rica
Natalia in Santiago, Chile
Patricia in Vina del Mar, Chile
Mathieu in Playa Rosado north of Valdivia, Chile
Carla in Bariloche, Argentina
Ricardo in Puerto Montt, Chile
Sole in Ancud, Chile
Leonar in Achao, Chile
Matiss in Vancouver, BC
Shaun in Campbell River, BC
Leah on Cortes Island BC
Caitlyn on Quadra Island, BC
James in Nanaimo, BC
Adam and Kim in Victoria, BC
Lara, Toronto, ON
Eduardo and Alex, La Paz, Baja California Sur, Mexico
Cesar, La Paz, Baja California Sur, Mexico
Carol, Coromandel, New Zealand
Craig, Auckland, New Zealand
Stu, Whangarei, New Zealand
Denis, Ohakune, New Zealand
Sam, Wellington, New Zealand
Ernie, Anikiwa, New Zealand
Sandy, Nelson, New Zealand
Craig, Queenstown, New Zealand
Santiago, Te Anau, New Zealand
Chris, queen charlotte city, Haida Gwaii, BC, Canada
Julie, Morwell, Victoria, Australia
Gina, Bridport, Tasmania, Australia
Tim, Flinders Island, Tasmania, Australia
Gert, Daylsford, VIC, Australia
Stella, Langhorne Creek, SA, Australia
Chris, Coober Pedy, SA, Australia
Gery, Cooktown, Queensland, Australia
Rob, Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Chris, Darwin Australia
Richard, Kununurra, Australia
Dave, Dampier, Australia
Jen, Rockingham, Australia

and look forward to when I can host again!


I have used this network extensively through hosting, surfing, ride shares, boat shares, organizing events etc.

I last officially hosted a few people while i was living in santa catalina Panama and on Karaka may 2013 and we connected with some CS organizing some events and parties in Panama City. I have also used this network traveling in Chile and Argentina 2011/12 and it was absolutely fantastic. I even had the opportunity to give back and host people for a 3 month period that i lived in Puerto Bertrand in the Aysen region of Chilean Patagonia.
I have travelled throughout Canada and the USA quite a bit as well as Baja California Sur, Mexico and Costa Rica, staying on folks couches that i have met along the way, met through other people but most of the time through this great network. I plan to use couch surfing when i travel to make my life a little bit easier, allow me to safe some money and get a true local perspective on the area. During my time at the Dreamhouse in Thunder Bay Ontario I hosted around 100 people both officially throught this network and through friends. All have worked out well. I always look forward to making new connections with CSers where ever i find myself.


Exploring, Learning, Adventure, Photography, Film, Music, Meeting new people, Hanging out with friends, Dinner Parties...

In terms of Outdoor Recreational activities I enjoy, sea kayaking, sailing, hiking, canoeing, mountaineering, rock climbing, biking, cross-country skiing, kite-skiing, snowshoeing and snowboarding.

I enjoy traveling and meeting new and interesting people and sharing experiences with others. I am excited to try to speak new languages in places i travel. I feel i have developed a solid conversational level of spanish and french so i am also excited to practice!

Music, Movies, and Books

I enjoy films especially documentaries, the Planet Earth and Blue Planet series are probably my favorite but i have seem them all so many times, I find it difficult to find a good movie these days... but when i can i enjoy Its the national film board of canada's official website and you can stream excellent canadian documentaries off of there and they are fairly high quality and run smoothly.

I like attending outdoor film festivals and learning about wonderous adventures from around the world.

I also enjoy reading books about wonderous adventures.

I have a very extensive music collection from swapping music while traveling and with couch surfers.

I listen to all sorts of music for all different occasions.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've seen and done a lot of amazing things please check out my photo albums for some good pics:

Teach, Learn, Share

I am very passionate about learning especially learning through experience.

I am also very passionate about teaching people new things

I have a lot of knowledge to share about many things and so do the people i meet.

I am open minded and very much enjoy learning about others passions, explorations, adventures, and interests.

What I Can Share with Hosts

i can offer hosts solid communication, easy going laid back times, sharing in cooking/cleaning etc lots of good stories and connections from my travels. I also have loads of connections in the outdoor industry around the world.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Cambodia, Cayman Islands, Chile, Costa Rica, France, French Polynesia, Germany, Honduras, Hong Kong, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Canada, Chile, French Polynesia, Mexico, Panama, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    21 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Zack’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups