Nicolas Alvarez Delorenzo's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 6 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Nicolas’s full profile.

Overview

  • 10 references 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in German, Sign Language - Spanish; learning English, French, German, Portuguese
  • 33, Other
  • Member since 2013
  • Hospitality managers
  • Working in hospitality industry
  • From Venezuela, Caracas
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Meeting new people and share about the life.

ABOUT ME

Hello everybody, we are Nico and Berni 25 and 28 years old.
Nico was born in Venezuela, he lived there until he was 18. He also did one year of cooking school. When Nico turned 19, he went to Chile to keep on studying. The choice for going to Chile was because his mom lived there.
Berni was born in Santiago, Chile and she has lived all of her life in the capital. She studied drama before hospitality management.
We met each other 3 years ago at University in Santiago Chile, where we did a degree in Hospitality Management. Since the day we got together, we have shared that special feeling and taste for travelling. That's why in summer 2012, we decided to do a 2 month trip around South America by bus.
Our amazing adventure started in Peru, then we got to Ecuador, Colombia and ending Venezuela visiting Nico's family.
After that awesome trip through our beautiful continent, we felt that travelling was our thing, so that same year when we finish our degree we said we where going to go to Australia and then South East Asia.

Last May 2013 we arrived to Sydney, Australia on a work and holiday visa for one year. We worked really hard cleaning big boats and serving in a take away shop. We saved all the money that we could and bought a nice campervan to travel around Australia.
Our lovely Toyota Hiace 1993 took us to every corner we wanted from this beautiful country getting to know all the east coast up to Cairns and then turning to Victoria and South Australia.

Not everything was fun and travel, we did a lot of hard jobs to keep on going with our aussie adventure.

So the last stop was Adelaide, Australia here we did volunteer jobs in exchange for accommodation and food. That's when we got to learn and see the real farmer Australian life. What do they like to talk about, do for fun, eat, how they celebrate their birthdays or holidays etc. We discovered with this "volunteer" experience that living and sharing with locals is the best way to know the culture of the zone and the country rather than taking a tour bus.
So we think that the idea of Couchsurfing is not to save money, is to know the culture of the place, make friends and contacts all over the world.

The plan is to go to South East Asia; Indonesia, Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos, Thailand and India. Then Berni will go to Chile to visit her family and Nico will go to Germany to study because he has german nationality due to her grandmother was born in Germany, and besides, because all of his mother family including her, left to Germany to live.
Berni will go to Germany too, but 6 months later. She's planning on studying as well wine business.

We both are native Spanish speakers, but we also speak fluent and proper English. We also know French, but in a basic way the same for Portuguese. Our next challenge is German! ahahha

We are animal lovers, specially cats!!!! :)

WE love to eat, go out, do exercise and enjoy of each others company. We love each other since the first day we got together, and we've never been separated since then.
All we want is to help who needs it, share new experiences and have fun!!!!

PHILOSOPHY

We think that if you want, you Can!!
All you need is to have the idea of wanting something to make it happen. The rest is piece of cake!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We were reading a blog post in internet and the writer mention about CS and how different it can be, so we decided to give a chance and lets see how it go.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

We haven't done any CS before, but our volunteering experience in South Australia is the closest to CS and it has been massive! we're very outgoing, friendly and positive so we have a feeling that we will really enjoy it.

Interests

Our main interests are:

Food; all kinds, tastes, flavours etc. We love eating and cooking. Can be a stall in the street or a nice fancy restaurant as long as its gooood!

Music; Berni loves most all kinds of music. She thinks that whenever is music on, is ALL GOOd.

Dancing; Berni did contemporary dancing so she loves to express herself y this media. She enjoys watching a dancing play, or a dancing tv show, or just getting into a cub and dance herself.

Animals; we love going exploring wild life, taking pictures and patting some of them if we can!

Movies; there's nothing like a nice cold, rainy day and have a good marathon movie with something good to eat :) or a good day off with movies and cuddling.

  • animals
  • cats
  • culture
  • writing
  • dancing
  • contemporary dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • exercise
  • marathon
  • shopping
  • movies
  • reading
  • tv
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • music
  • business
  • communications
  • languages
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

Music;
Reggae like LOs Cafres, Bob Marley, Peter Tosh, Cultura Profetica, Gondwana, Katchafire and more!

Rock; The Beatles, Jethro Tull, Pink Floyd, Fleetwood Mac, Cat Stevens, Incubus, Led Zeppelin, Aerosmith and more!

Trip Hop; Massive attack, Bjork, Portishead

DUb; Salmonella Dub

Soul; Amy Whinehouse, Fiona Apple and more!

MOVIES that we'e seen and like:

Pulp Fiction, Trainspotting, Amelie, La Vie en Rose, The Hunger Games, La piel que habito, Todo sobre mi madre, El chacotero sentimental, Forrest Gump, Mean Girls, The Hangover, The notebook and many more that we don't remember right now!!!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Brazil; see hundreds of new turtles join in the sea with the olds ones.
Australia; dive in the Great Barrier Reef and get to see the wonderful submarine world.
Live in a car for 4 months.
Hug a baby koala in Australia

Teach, Learn, Share

We can teach you Spanish, south American cooking and some latin moves!!!

We want to learn other languages, or at least learn the basics so we can communicate. Also we are willing to learn new ways of cooking and anything you would like us to learn from you.

Share. To share our experiences, feelings, stories, pictures and emotions to everyone that is willing to have a good conversation about life and future.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Aruba, Australia, Bolivia, Brazil, Cambodia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Germany, Indonesia, Mexico, Peru, Singapore, Thailand, United States, Venezuela, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Chile, Venezuela

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Nicolas’s full profile.

My Groups