Sarah Rathay's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sarah’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 14 References 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning French
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Hydrogeologist
  • M.Sc. in Earth Sciences
  • From MA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To meet as many fun-loving, adventurous people as I can and learn what they have to teach me. To become more tolerant and understand the world a bit better.

ABOUT ME

I love meeting new people. I am fun-loving, spontaneous, and enjoy nothing more than traveling somewhere I have never been before on a moment's notice. I love sports and the outdoors. I am easy-going and do not need many materialistic things to make me happy. I grew up in Massachusetts, went to university in Montreal and Vancouver, and am now enjoying a more care-free existence. There are just so many places and so little time!

PHILOSOPHY

It is not about where you are trying to go in life, but the road you take getting there.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I am looking to meet interesting people who have something unique to offer. I am interested in couch surfing and offering my couch when not traveling.

Interests

My interests include sports, the outdoors, reading, and learning new languages (anything cultural, really). I spend a lot of time rock climbing. When not climbing I enjoy skiing, gymnastics, and running. Any cultural experiences, festivals, etc. are amazing.

  • recipes
  • running
  • outdoor activities
  • skiing
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • gymnastics
  • geology

Music, Movies, and Books

I like almost anything, but currently tend to be most interested in folk, old school hip hop, and cumbia. I read a wide variety of genres, but am currently going through a psychology/self-help phase. I like when people share with me their particular interests, especially in music and cuisine.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I hitchhiked 1400 km from Bariloche to El Chalten, Argentina in 2 and 1/2 days!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach skiing, rock climbing, or English. I studied geology so I can explain basic geological processes. I am currently trying to learn French and enjoy sharing different cuisines/recipes and stories.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Bolivia, Chile, France, Greece, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Peru, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Germany, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Sarah’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups