Sydney Rome's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sydney’s full profile.


  • 131 references 43 Confirmed & Positive
  • Ambassador
  • Fluent in English, Italian, Spanish; learning French, Galician
  • 58, Male
  • Member since 2005
  • DJ/Designer/Event Organiser
  • Bachelor of Design, University of Technology
  • From Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Sydney Rome is actually my old DJ name, and although I retired a few years ago, online I'm still ubiquitously known as Sydney or Syd. I usually live in Spoleto (Central Italy) in the summer, and A Coruña (on the northwest of Spain) the rest of the year, providing I'm not travelling of course, and to be honest I tend to travel quite a lot.

If you're visiting Umbria or Galicia, feel free to contact me for advice or travel tips, and if your timing is good, perhaps even a couch to surf. I have a lot more space and a much better set-up for hosting in Italy, but if you're visiting the northwest of Spain, or just about to finish the 'Camino de Santiago', I'll see what I can do ,))

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love to swap stories and travel advice with other travellers + organise CS events around the world.


  • arts
  • design
  • music
  • cinema
  • nature
  • cultural exchange
  • cultural events
  • solotravel

Music, Movies, and Books

A big YES to all three, but let's not forget about Video Games, they're part of our mainstream culture as well ,))

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I managed to survive the 80's and 90's, which most would agree, were the definitive decades for Clubbing, Dance Parties and Raves. Alas quite a few of my friends didn't.

Teach, Learn, Share

Trying to learn more languages, recipes and life hacks.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Loads of travel tales and tips + some personal insights into why I chose to settle down in both Italy AND Spain.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, China, Colombia, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, England, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Portugal, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, England, Italy, Netherlands, Spain

Old School Badges

  • 2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Sydney’s full profile.

My Groups