Wool Naidoo's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 6 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Wool’s full profile.


  • 80 references 63 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Afrikaans, English; learning Chinese (Simplified), French, German, Spanish
  • 93, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • in Between jobs
  • university
  • From Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Middle age person who enjoy a pint now and again. Social down to earth traveller. Currently in between jobs and recently just moved to Manchester. I am a proud "tree hugger" and love natures' beauty. However, I understand modernization is inevitable. Love the outdoors and being adventurous. I have a dry sense of humour and enjoy being unique in my own right. Shy at first but once the ice is broken I become a chatterbox. I don't smoke and occasionally drink. I love sport and can sometimes be competitive. I like to think there is some latin in me and tend to get along well with all people especially Spanish speakers. I don't like being in photos but love taking them specifically of nature. Please do not ask to take a photo of me. I hate saying NO. I like easy going people that can hold a conversation and look at all angles of the topic. People with a sense of humour is most welcome in my life. Like to build on knowledge specifically local remedies etc.
I am not religious but very open minded (spiritual) and I am now practising Tai Chi. I also do practice some yoga but not seriously. Recent times have been stressful partly because of studies but also covid had a massive impact on my social life which I would like to get on track. Fully vaccinated.


"in order to live your dreams you got to overcome your fears."

"Don't dwell on the past, live the present and dream about the future"

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Sharing experiences, culture and languages. Talking about my country and the countries i've visited. Host when I have the opportunity to. I don't surf more than 4 days and I don't host more than 4 days as we may get tired of each others company. I like to immerse myself in countries that I visit by surfing with locals. I feel this is one of the better options to getting to know people, culture and places.

Cancellation/honesty policy

I do not cancel at last minute and hope that once you have accepted my request, you would not cancel either. My plans are circled around your acceptance, and maybe your plans are circles around mine. I would rather you turn me down point-blank, than accept and cancel without a valid, true reason. I like to think of myself as honest and true...pls be the same. We are adults after all, even if we don't act it.


I have not had a bad experience so please don't spoil it :). People I surfed with have been patient and tolerant especially with my dry sense of humour. If I step across that line, pls tell me, as some of us are more sensitive than others. I'd rather see smiles than cries. As you would notice and one of the hosts as picked up on is I have not hosted alot. This may be one of many reasons: 1. I am living in shared house where housemates will not allow 'strangers' in after explaining the concept of cs. 2. The landlord will not except it as it is not part of the contract ( this maybe I can bypass if it is not a live in landlord). 3. I do not have a place myself. 4. I am in a place where no one want to visit like Hull where I was previously.


I'm into all music (but prefer latin). Like to learn about culture, love sport, adventure and socialising. I like the latin language and culture. I'm particularly interested in the environment evident from completing both degrees in environmental science. Keeping fit is now priority, as i might be getting a beer belly. I have now taken up learning German...unfortunately it is not going too well.

  • dancing
  • salsa dancing
  • environment
  • cooking
  • beer
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • sports
  • boxing
  • languages
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

enya, latin music like mana, manu chao, gypsey kings, Gente de Zona and now los cafres. My favourite book would be Blue Horizon by Wilbur Smith. Movies...indiana jones or die hards.

Books I loved were Ken Follets:Pillars of the earth, Fall of giants...actually I loved all is books. Also a fan of Wilbur Smith.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Cycled from France to Sweden in 3 weeks
Scuba dived in UK
swam/floated in the dead sea
Snorkeled in Malta

Teach, Learn, Share

Can share some language and ethnic values. cook "indian" just as long as you have a strong stomach.lol. If you want to improve your english although i'm simplistic. Talk about the environment. Some basic salsa, merengue and bachata. If you want to learn something more authentic like Spanish, I am happy to help. Can talk about travel based on my experiences.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can dance basic salsa, speak spanish, afrikaans and some French and i'm currently on a mission to learn Mandarin. I can share my experience of places I have travelled. Can also cook if you good to me.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Cambodia, Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Malta, Morocco, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Norway, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Israel, South Africa, Spain, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Wool’s full profile.

My Groups