Margunn Almli's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 85% response rate
  • Last login about 6 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Margunn’s full profile.

Overview

  • 146 references 119 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Norwegian; learning Spanish
  • 41, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • No occupation listed
  • chef
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I prefer requests no more than 2 weeks in advance, maybe a month. In these covid times specially it's better with a request not so far in to the future. Things change all the time, but I will probably host you

ABOUT ME

I love traveling and can't seem to get enough of it. It doesn't really matter if it's to hot place or a cold place, i enjoy both.
Well, sunny is nice 😉
Since 2004 I've basically worked 2 years and then travelled for 1 year. Hoping to keep this going ☺
I enjoy meeting people through couchsurfing,met a lot of interesting people this way

I'm no a party girl, love beer and pubs, but hate clubs, unless it's a rock club 😉

PHILOSOPHY

those who can enjoy the small things in life have lots to be happy about

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I both surf and host

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I only have good experiences using couchsurfing, both wile hosting and surfing. Always met great people :). Never had any bad experience, just a few interesting ones. They make for good stories later 😉

I do feel a lot of people just use CS for a free bed these days. Most of the request I get haven't even read my profile. But there is still a lot of good people here though 😀

Interests

Traveling, football,music,books, history, movies,beer, games

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: action, thriller sci fi, comedy, fantasy

Music: My tast in music is a bit random and not up to date. A little on the heavy side. My Spotify is one moment Manowar, then next Pink before some Avenged Sevenfold. And then suddenly Norwegian reggae,yes Norwegian reggae exist 😉

Books: I like all kind of book with a map in it, whether it's a map of an elaborate fantasy world of the real world.
I'm in the on going process of readin "the Wheel of time series". It's looooong

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I could tell sorries of "breaking" in to a Romanian cemetery, the crazy scissor man in a greyhound bus, being at the first Hobbit movie premier, or crossing the Belize Mexican border sort of illegally

But i rather tell a little about my time working at Bjørnøya (Bear Island) This is a weather station in the Arctic. Nobody lives here, only the 9 people that come to work for half a year + 3 dogs. When our half year if finished 9 new people come up. Maybe once a month the coast guard comes with supplies. I loveed being in this place, it's a very interesting experience being away from civilization on a totally peaceful place for some time. Because it's a risk of bumping in to a polar bear we always need to be armed when we are outside.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you to cook some Norwegian dishes and my favorite card game gin and rumy. I'll be very happy of you wanna play that.

My phone is smarter than me, so if you are good with technology maybe you can help me.

Would also like to improve my Spanish.
Share travel stories or maybe just random facts. Random facts is fun. Did you know that in Alaska you are not allowed to throw a moos out of a plane when it's in the air?

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm a cook so can deffenetly offer something in the kitchen. I usaualy wandering around exploring during the day,but like to spend time with my host during the evening,have a few beers (or wine)

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Kosovo, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Myanmar, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Northern Ireland, Palestine, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Senegal, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Svalbard and Jan Mayen, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Timor-Leste (East Timor), Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Norway

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Margunn’s full profile.

My Groups