Clara Flintrop's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Clara’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 14 References 14 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French, Spanish
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Travelling Scientist/ Scientific Traveller
  • I have a degree in Biological Sciences and now I want to ...
  • From Berlin
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Survive my MSc programme

ABOUT ME

I am originally from Berlin, lived in Edinburgh for four years and took off after graduation to do some adventuring around the world.

I spent three amazing months in Australia in 2013 where I once again caught the travel bug. In spring last year I spent an amazing couple of months in Ecuador and went to Canada in autumn to do ecology-related fieldwork in the Yukon Territory.

Since October I have become sessile again (temporarily) to study marine microbiology in Bremen. I am already planning my next adventures though, because there is just too much to see and there are too many people to meet... right?

PHILOSOPHY

Enjoy life, be open to everything, stay curious!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I started off surfing in Norway once during a spontaneous hiking vacation in April (spot the mistake) and had such a fantastic time that I then decided to host lots of surfers in my home in Edinburgh over the summer.

Last year in Australia I surfed a lot myself and had such an amazing time that I never wanted to stop. Since then I have sadly been on a bit of a CS hiatus, which I hope to change soon.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have only had amazing experiences so far- met great people, learned new things, exchanged stories...

Interests

Well- I like traveling! I also enjoy reading, juggling, music, meeting people and doing any kind of sports- I've been playing Capoeira for about 7 years now! I would also like to get more into rock-climbing/bouldering, but I've found it difficult to find the time for that so far.
I love being outdoors- going hiking and camping (and hopefully some day rock-climbing). And last but not least: I love everything to do with Science- the geeky and fun bits, but also how science can be used to battle fundamental issues such as climate change, disease and/or self-imposed ignorance.

  • festivals
  • capoeira
  • flying
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • juggling
  • bouldering
  • survival
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • ecology
  • science
  • hitchhiking

Music, Movies, and Books

If it's sciency, educational, animated, inspirational, folky, thought-inducing, visually engaging, self-deprecating or recommended by a friend, I will probably like it.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Climbing Cotopaxi, Exploring the Amazon, Seeing the Aurora Borealis, Flying in a Helicopter, Spending one month on Herschel Island, Swimming with Belugas in the Arctic Ocean, Hiking in the Scottish Highlands, Edinburgh Fringe Festival, Diving the Great Barrier Reef, Attending a week-long Capoeira workshop in a National Park in Tuscany, Hitch-hiking along the New England Highway, Whale encounter off the coast of Tasmania, ...

Teach, Learn, Share

I can fold water-lillies and roses with napkins- essential skills for survival! I am also happy to give a beginners Capoeira lesson for anyone interested. And I can make pretty good home-made veggie Sushi.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Finland, France, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Clara’s full profile. It’s free!