Michael Short

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa

Accepting Guests

  • 91% response rate
  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile. It’s free!


  • PhD student modelling and optimising biofuels systems/ass...
  • Finished high school and a degree in chemical engineering...
  • From Cape Town, South Africa
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Knowledge, travel, and hopefully a PhD!


I am human. The more time I spend as one the more I realise this fact. My life is generally comprised of music, reading, spending time with my girlfriend and friends, and my work. My work involves a lot of coffee and time spent on my computer. I also play computer games and drink too much.

I have strong world views and always enjoy listening to opposing views, especially educated ones. I pride myself on my scepticism, however I try to not let this philosophical standpoint affect my personal life too much ("try" being the important word in this sentence). I am studying chemical engineering at the University of Cape Town and sing and play guitar in a progressive rock/metal band in Cape Town called Zero Stroke. I suppose I should reference you to the band page: www.facebook.com/zerostroke

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I host and I travel... I don't know what else I would be doing to participate :p


I have surfed a few couches and hosted many surfers and never once have I had a bad experience with any of them. The types of people that open their homes and are willing to stay with people who they do not know immediately identifies those people as open-minded, adventurous and good-hearted.


I love knowledge, the transfer of it and the power it gives to those that take the time to enjoy it. I love surrounding myself with nature and experiencing new things. Hiking, snorkeling and camping are some of my favourite ways to relax. I really hold the relationships in my life dear to my heart and love meeting new people. And above all of these things I love music more than anything.

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies - I don't really watch movies often. I enjoy documentaries and movies that are by most people's standards "weird"

Music - Music rules my life. I always listen to music at home or in transit.Without a doubt my favourite band is Dream Theater, a progressive metal band with incredible emotion and musicality built into their music. I am also a big fan of incredible guitarists like Guthrie Govan, Al Di Meola and Mattias Eklundh. I can listen to any style of music with good musicianship, but prefer to, in general, listen to jazz, progressive metal and fusion.

Books - I read mostly non-fiction. My favourite authors include Bill Bryson, Lyall Watson, Chomsky, Zizek. I read a lot of biographies and science and history books. I have started, recently, to enjoy fiction more, starting with a variety of classic novels and science fiction. Arthur C. Clarke, Murakami, Cormac McCarthy, Nabokov, Philip K. Dick are all great :)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Playing with my band at our first festival appearance. Staring with awe at the mighty Victoria Falls. Hiking in the Cederberg mountains and in the Drakensberg are also moments I will never forget. Road tripping through Namibia with 2 of my best friends.

Teach, Learn, Share

I teach chemical engineering subjects as a tutor at UCT and also teach high school mathematics and science in the Cape Town area to learners that are looking to improve their marks. I play guitar and sing in a band so I can help with song-writing in a variety of genres as well as with technique and practicing. I play an extended range guitar (8-string), so I am also able to teach bass to a lesser degree

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Botswana, Brazil, Croatia, Denmark, Germany, Hungary, Lesotho, Namibia, Slovenia, Sweden, Turkey, Zambia

Countries I’ve Lived In

South Africa

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups