Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 19 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jocelyn’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 63 References 34 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 61, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Retired - laboratory technician
  • Biology, entomology (bugs) and plant pathology. I hope to...
  • From Born in Calabogie, Ontario, grew up in Angus, Ont.
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To explore and help others to do the same.


I usually travel and live alone but am social as well. CS has added so much to my travels by making it easier to meet people. I like connecting with other travelers and local people.

I am greatly interested in local music, food, nature, architecture and arts so will enjoy experiencing any of these with you. I like to share food and music and travel stories.

I have recently had knee replacement surgery so I have kicked my wheelchair to the curb and am using a walker part-time and walking unaided part-time.


Consider what you can do not what you can't do.

I try to do things that are a little outside my comfort zone. To not let fear stop me. I think that often our fears keep us from finding wonderful treasures. For example I went on a meditation retreat and was so afraid of the required silence. How would I live without music or talking. It turned out to be such a wonderful gift.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I like to surf but find stairs often stop me. I like to host but as I am usually traveling. I mostly use CS to met local people. I also meet other travellers through couch surfing.


I have couch surfed and hosted, used ride share and also met local people and other travellers through CS. I have gone on trips arranged through the +50 group. It is fantastic to travel with others and to have the trip arranged by local people. I have made many new friends through couch surfing.


Theatre, scuba, motorcycling, bicycling, travel, gardening, mushrooms, birding, music - almost everything from electronic to opera but especially jazz. Not too into country and not at all into heavy metal.

Music, Movies, and Books

Just finished The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver. I like to alternate fiction and non-fiction and enjoy reading things that have something to say. I also love reading people magazines and other pure junk.

Enjoy comedy and social/political satire. I think Jon Stewart and John Oliver are the best things on TV.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I think the most amazing thing is human spirit. Seeing children laugh and smile in the slums of Calcutta or experiencing the kindness of people who have had such a hard life yet are so willing to share to to help.

Teach, Learn, Share

I know a bit about science and nature.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I like to cook. I like to share music and experiences.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Cambodia, Cayman Islands, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Iraq, Italy, Jamaica, Jordan, Kenya, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Romania, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In


Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    11 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Jocelyn’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups