Michael Lafortune's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 10 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile.

Overview

  • 101 references 55 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish
  • 38, Male
  • Member since 2005
  • Ex-and-Future-Traveler
  • Diplomas in administration and environment
  • From Joliette, Quebec, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Making a difference.

ABOUT ME

I was 14 years old and I knew I wanted to travel around the world. The next year I went out of the family house for a month to work on a farm in an english speaking family. At 17 years old I went in western canada to work in the rockies for 9 months and at 23 my cousin drove me to the mexican border to start my trip around the world. I came back home 5 years later, settle down and in 2012 got a beautiful kid.

Traveling allowed me to see how other cultures live and deal with their environment. We should adapt to our environment and not trying to adapt the environment to us. I now try to make a difference working in the waste management industry.

Finally I just started to learn how to sail. In a few years I hope to be able to get myself a boat and go around the world again. But this time on the ocean.

PHILOSOPHY

"You cannot solve the problem with the same kind of thinking that as created the problem" (Albert Einstein)

"The impossible exists only until we find a way to make it possible." (Mike Horn)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

The CouchSurfing project is a perfect platform to meet open minded people. I think CS is for people that want to know more about the world and share good ideas and time.

Interests

Snowboarding, Traveling, Scuba diving, Sky diving, Hiking, Biking, Camping. Playing Bass guitar, Playing Ukulele, Partying, Meeting new people, Talking about life experiences, Caring of the environment, Participating in goods projects of all kind, Talking about politic, The world, Listening to music, Reading books, Playing chess, Swing dancing, Drinking beer, Seeing live performances, etc.

Music, Movies, and Books

MUSIC

I can't live without music. At home I play electric bass and while I am traveling I play ukulélé. I am not a professional, I just like playing. About what I listen to, there are many kinds of music that I enjoy depending of my mood, but there is a list of my favorites: Funk, Jazz, Ska, Electronic, 80'€™s and 70'€™s rock.

MOVIES

I enjoy watching movies once in a while but I get bored if I do it when the weather invite me to go outside. I am not picky in my choices of movies, but I don'€™t get into horror and super-hollywood's productions. To give you an idea (or maybe not) there'€™s some titles I really liked: Un crabe dans la tête, Moulin-Rouge, The Matrix, Spring Summer Automn Winter Spring..., Eagle vs Shark, Austin Power, Québec-Montréal.

BOOKS

There is nothing like reading a good book and not be able to put it down. My selection of book usually goes with what I find in the second hand book shops or my friend'€™s sugestions. There are some books I recommend: Life of Pi, 1968, Angels and demons, Le messie récalcitrant, La trilogie des fourmies, Un pont sur l'€™infini, 100 years of solitude, Las venas abiertas de Latina America, Le dictateur et le hamac.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Following my dream and traveling for more than 5 years.

Teach, Learn, Share

TEACH

I offer free ukulélé lesson to all my friends. Plus, if you want to learn French, English or Spanish, I might be able to help you depending on your level.

LEARN

I love learning new stuff. I am always open to learn more about how people live, or lived, in different places around the world.

SHARE

Sharing experiences of life is the way we can grow faster and get better as a community. There is no individual that can experience everything and theory is not always accurate. We all need to take advices from others to avoid to make the same mistakes again and again.

Countries I’ve Visited

Antarctica, Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Cambodia, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Ecuador, Estonia, France, Germany, Guatemala, Honduras, India, Italy, Japan, Laos, Mexico, Mongolia, Namibia, Nepal, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Russian Federation, South Africa, South Korea, Swaziland, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Venezuela, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Canada, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    18 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile.

My Groups