Pocut Shaliha Finzia's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Pocut Shaliha’s full profile.

Overview

  • 29 references 15 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Indonesian, Malay; learning Arabic (Gulf), Japanese
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Administrative Supervisor at Japanese Consulting Firm
  • Communication Science & English Education
  • From Banda Aceh, Aceh, Indonesia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

UPDATE: I have moved to Jakarta and been working here since the end of September 2017. Hence, I might not be able to host you in Banda Aceh (unless I come home or my family is available to host you).

However, if you need to ask anything about Aceh, do not hesitate to contact me. I'll try to help you as much as I can from here. and Maybe we can meet up if you come to Jakarta.
.
.
.

I'm holding a double degree from 2 different majors at 2 different universities in Banda Aceh.
I currently work as a Language Assistant in an International Management Consulting Company in Jakarta.

I will be studying in Sydney for my master's degree in August 2022 (finally! after 2 years of the delay due to covid LOL)

I love traveling, cycling, teaching, watching movies, taking pictures and videos, cooking, and baking (trying new recipes).

I do have a dream to travel around the world, see the aurora with my bare eyes, hug koalas and little pandas. ( believe me, it's just some of my dreams, I have a very long list though! :p) 😊😊

Traveling to me isn't just about going to some places and taking a picture of them, but more to learn about other's cultures, customs, including lifestyles. In this way, I learn how to respect others including my own culture.
That's why I prefer to meet the locals and spend time with them rather than just staying at the hotel.

in Banda Aceh, I live with my parents, two older brothers (now one, because one of my brothers is also working in Jakarta), and cats who also love traveling and meeting new people; well, that's only for my family. My cats don't really care about new people (OR traveling), all they do are eat, (mostly) sleep, and play around. :p

I did a student exchange program in Fukui, Japan from 2013-2014 through UFSEP (University of Fukui Student Exchange Program). I can say that it was a really wonderful year in my life, and I can't be thankful enough for that.

I was also a volunteer at the Office of International Affairs, University of Syiah Kuala.

After traveling to many places (Mostly in Japan), I realized that I am the kind of person who loves nature more than museums. Well, I'm okay going to the museum, but not for long hours. yet, I can stay the whole day outside in nature.
I like swimming but I can't swim, so I'm kinda jealous of seeing people who can swim. x"D if you can, please teach me!

I'm not a party girl (What I mean about parties is like clubbing, yet I love BBQ and traditional parties) ;) maybe a bit old school, but I enjoy being me.. ;)

I usually ride my scooter to go around Banda Aceh, and I can drive cars as well (I have the licenses) ;)

If you want to know more about me or my culture, let's meet up and exchange our culture, experiences, and stories! 😉

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I know CS from the Indonesian Backpacker Facebook group. They often share their stories and experience traveling around the world, including CS. And it sounds really interesting.
So far I met some people from Couchsurfing during their trip to Banda Aceh or when I was in Turkey for an internship program. We also hosted some CS in our houses :)

Through CS, I'd love to meet new people from different cultures and backgrounds. Creating borderless friendship. and it's always interesting to know other cultures from their natives! ;)
Therefore, I'd love to help you to understand and experience Acehnese Culture and I hope you'll have a great time here and when you returned back to your country, you could share all the great experiences with your family and friends.

Interests

Food, Travel, Nature, Outdoor activities, Photography, Culture, Education

  • arts
  • culture
  • photography
  • cooking
  • farmers' market
  • crafts
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • swimming
  • languages
  • volunteering
  • beaches
  • food
  • tea
  • diving
  • night walks
  • roadtrips
  • video editing
  • walking in nature
  • strolling
  • community service

Music, Movies, and Books

Music : Pop, easy-listening song

Movies genre: adventure, romantic, and comedy movies.

Some movies that I have watched: The secret life of Walter Mitty, Harry Potter, Taken 3, The mentalist, CSI NY, Kung Fu Panda, The tale of Samurai Cooking, Marvel movies (ant-man, etc). etc.

Teach, Learn, Share

I could teach local language (Indonesian or Acehnese) and also traditional dance if you wanna learn. 😂
While you are in Banda Aceh (and I have free time), I can show you around, recommend you places you must go, food you should try, and some local wisdom,or rules that you might want (and need) to know.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Friendship, Traditional Food, Language Exchange, Culture, Stories.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Fiji, Iran, Japan, Malaysia, New Zealand, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Indonesia, Japan

Join Couchsurfing to see Pocut Shaliha’s full profile.