Anna Alessandra Monaco's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Anna Alessandra’s full profile.

Overview

  • 4 references 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Italian; learning Japanese, Spanish
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • Graduate Trainee Researcher
  • MSc in Molecular and Cell Biology
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello Travellers!
I am a PhD student and researcher in Molecular and Evolution Biology at the Max Delbrück Center in Berlin. I am half South African and half Italian, I was born in Durban but grew up mostly in Tuscany, and then moved to Bologna for my Bachelor's and Master's Degree. I have now been living in Berlin since the end of 2017, and Berlin is definitely the place to be!
I am always extremely fascinated by all the different cultures that surround us, especially in cosmopolitan Berlin, and travelling for me is one of the best ways of learning. Meet the people, (try to) speak the language, eat the food, listen to the music and enjoy the art, take in every minute detail of the surroundings.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Especially when solo travelling, I cherish the opportunity to be able to connect with the locals. You guys know where the good food is, which the cool areas are, and what is important to know about you city and country. When visiting somewhere new, I want to truly absorb the essence of the local culture, not quickly devour whatever surface-scratching experience is offered to the Sunday tourist.
On the other hand, I love Berlin will all my heart, and if you want a free "guide" and all-things-Berlin enthusiast, I'd love to show you around this crazy city!

Interests

I am a geek and a nerd, and I have no shame. I love Science and Technology (it is after all what I do for a living), but I also have a deeply rooted passion for the artistic sphere. Visual arts - classical, modern, and multimedia - especially photography, music (I myself play the guitar and ukulele), and literature are my go-to out of office activities.
And I love walking with my camera, I truly believe that the best way to visit a city is to walk through it, though every unexplored backstreet and every large avenue.

  • arts
  • culture
  • photography
  • concerts
  • capoeira
  • technology
  • reading
  • traveling
  • drawing
  • music
  • guitar
  • science
  • culinary
  • enology

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Walked from Lisboa to Santiago de Compostela with my best friend.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Cuba, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Scotland, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Italy, South Africa

Join Couchsurfing to see Anna Alessandra’s full profile.