Adem Üstün Çatalbaş's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Adem Üstün’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 8 References 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Turkish; learning Spanish
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • student
  • PhD Student
  • From Sakarya, Sakarya, Turkey
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am a PhD student at the University of Cincinnati in the USA. I am a sociologist, and I love travel around the world. My PhD is about military, conflict studies, war and peace in a global sense. I am particularly interested in military interventions in the world, especially in Latin America. My focus countries are Argentina and Turkey. Due to this fact, I started exploring Latin American countries, and learning Spanish as well. I am single and never married (and not thinking to do so in a near future).

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Since I am a sociologist, I want to touch the culture in the countries I visit. Couchsurfing is a good opportunity to do so. Besides, it is better to have friends from all over the world. I would very like to host some people from other cultures and countries.

Interests

literature (especially Latino literature)
philosophy
sports (soccer - goalkeeper)
cinema (my master thesis is on Turkish cinema)

  • culture
  • literature
  • movies
  • traveling
  • sports
  • soccer
  • sociology

Music, Movies, and Books

I love Nina Simone, Sarah Vaughan and Natalia Lafourcade
Everybody loves Gabriel Garcia Marquez (I do too) but my favorite is Carlos Fuentes. Jorge Amado is fascinating too.
For movies, The Village by M. Night Shalamayan is one of my best.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I was a hotel manager in Rwanda.

Teach, Learn, Share

i can teach Turkish and English if people are interested. i can give some lessons related to Turkish culture and history. i was a geography teacher once.

What I Can Share with Hosts

personally, i am a good listener, and thanks to my major (sociology) i like doing observations. so, i would very like to exchange experiences and knowledge. i would like to help locals if needed.

at my house, my guests may cook at my kitchen if they want. i offer free wi-fi, and i have air conditioner. access to the city center is easy and cheap from my home.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Bahamas, Belize, Brazil, Colombia, El Salvador, Greece, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Rwanda, Switzerland, United States, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

Rwanda, Turkey, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Adem Üstün’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups