Julia Köhler-Ahlendorf's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 9 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Julia’s full profile.

Overview

  • 9 references 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • Studentin
  • No education listed
  • From Berlin, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello, I'm Julia,
currently living in Berlin and studying medicine. I've just come out of a personal crisis where I questioned myself and my life up to this point. And I think it's a good thing that it happened; now I have a completely different outlook on life! I didn't travel much in the past, unfortunately, but I want to make up for that now.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I have just discovered couchsurfing for myself and I love the idea that people who love to travel support each other. I think it provides a great opportunity to get to know interesting people as well as foreign cities and countries better. When I used to travel before, I often stayed in hotels or vacation homes and visited tourist attractions that tourists usually visit. Unfortunately, I didn't learn much about the city and life in the city, about the people and cultural peculiarities. It was always quite anonymous. That's why I'm excited to have found a different way of traveling for myself with couchsurfing.

Interests

I have too many changing interests that I never really keep up with one thing permanently. It used to bother me, but now I think it's great because I love variety. I enjoy sports and love action: I've ridden my bike across the Alps, been skydiving, participated in a triathlon, love table tennis, and swimming in the lake during the summer. Right now, I've become a bit of a hobby psychologist and read a lot about the connection between childhood development and the psyche or about Buddhist teachings. I also enjoy meeting up with friends for board game nights and am always excited to try new things.

  • photography
  • cooking
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • psychology
  • travelling

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm a huge fan of Rock 'n' Roll and the music of the 50s and 60s. If I ever find the time, I would love to learn Rock 'n' Roll dancing. I adore the dance style because it's so wild, dynamic, and lively. In general, I think rock music is pretty cool. Another project of mine is learning to play the electric guitar so that I can be part of a punk-rock band.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Recently, I was on my first major trip and went on a road trip through California with a friend from Germany. We started in San Francisco, went through Yosemite National Park, where we spent a night sleeping in the car, which wasn't that comfortable and a bit spooky. Then we continued through the desert to Las Vegas and the Grand Canyon, which was my personal highlight. I would love to go back there and hike through the Canyon. Perhaps someone is interested in joining me? :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

Thank you for supporting people who love to travel and providing accommodation! And even more so, for offering the opportunity to explore new cities, countries, cultures, and people! I think it's great and important that people support each other! I live in a student dorm with only one room, so unfortunately, I can't host guests, but I would really love to!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Czech Republic, Germany, Italy, Poland, Switzerland, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Julia’s full profile.