Jorge Gomez Magenti's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jorge’s full profile.

Overview

  • 23 references 20 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Portuguese
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • PhD student in Chemistry
  • University of Cambridge
  • From Valencia, Valencian Community, Spain
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

Hi! I'm a 28 yo Spanish PhD student who likes to travel (duh), playing sports (any will do, but I have a passion for basketball), reading fantasy and sci-fi and watching good movies. I love cooking (I wonder way too often if I followed the wrong career path), and what comes after cooking!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Here is where I can write about having the chance to live a truer experience by sharing it with locals. About getting a real taste of what's living in the country I visit. About meeting meeting new people and possibly creating bonds that will last longer than the trip. Right?
Also we grad students get payed next to minimum wage, so there's that!

Music, Movies, and Books

Lately everything starts and finishes with Neil Gaiman for me.
Also I am re-re-re-re-reading the Name of the Wind, this time in Portuguese. I'm kinda proud of that. But really, I love fantasy and sci-fi (dystopian novels don't seem so funny now, do they?)

Wes Anderson is my favourite director, because everything is innocent, and sweet and heartwarming in his movies (plus I love lists). And the soundtracks. Oh, the soundtracks.

Before starting the PhD it was easier for me to tell you the shows that I wasn’t watching. Now I have a hard time watching anything longer than 21 min when I get home at night :/

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I remember this one time I bought a packet of Sainsbury's cookies and managed to not to eat it all in one sitting. That was pretty amazing in my book.

Teach, Learn, Share

If you want to know anything about Part 1A Chemistry, in theory I should manage to teach that. Oh, and how to cook authentic paella!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Netherlands, Spain, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Jorge’s full profile.

My Groups