David Titcumb's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 8 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see David’s full profile.

Overview

  • 9 references 9 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Social Worker
  • BA English Literature; BA in Social Work
  • From Coventry, England, United Kingdom
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Having fun

ABOUT ME

My name is David, I'm originally from the UK. I have worked, studied and lived in Germany, Northern Ireland and Austria. I love meeting people and shooting the breeze, especially over a beer or two. I like to see new places and love going on holiday. I also love an adventure and doing new things. I'd describe my pace of life as more of a saunter than a stride. I am a bit of a bike fanatic and will often cycle thousands of kilometres on a holiday. I also blog for 'Spotted by Locals'.

PHILOSOPHY

Tolerance, understanding, embracing new ideas and learning life's lessons through experience are all strong ideals of mine.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Couchsurfing is a great way of getting to know others. I've been very lucky to have hosted and surfed with some wonderful people. I try to be as helpful as possible when hosting and, if I can be, a motivated and interesting surfer.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I would say I'm an experienced surfer. I think exchange between people and cultures is wonderful. I have travelled all over Europe and I have hosted in every city I have lived. I have been very lucky and met a lot of wonderful people through Couchsurfing, all with stories to tell. I am honoured to count some of them among my closest friends.

Interests

Reading, talking, classic cars, cycling (road, audax and touring) mid-90's British music, swapping stuff and random homemade things

  • coffee
  • reading
  • cars
  • socializing
  • blogging
  • cycling
  • camping
  • languages
  • social work

Music, Movies, and Books

Avid believer in Britpop.

I spent my degree reading books. If you're looking for a common interest, you're likely to find one here.

I also quite like films. Although I would say I have quite an open mind, I am a bit pretentious in my tastes...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Almost being arrested as a teenager driving in Spain. Actually, that wasn't so great...

Camping in -18°c using a home-made bivouac and not freezing to death.

Cycling from Vienna to Palermo wearing a pair of H&M shorts.

Teach, Learn, Share

Would like to share:
A beer, a chat, some food, maybe a city tour if it all works out...

Would like to learn:
New languages, new ways of brewing the perfect coffee, new cultures and ideologies, how to write a novel without putting in any effort, how to fix a camper van with some sticky tape and an elastic band...

What I Can Share with Hosts

Random drawings on napkins, although sadly I'm no artist.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Monaco, Netherlands, Poland, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, England, Germany, Northern Ireland

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see David’s full profile.