Debbie Maclin's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Debbie’s full profile.

Overview

  • 10 references 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish
  • 63, Other
  • Member since 2008
  • I import hand woven fabric from Guatemala
  • masters in teaching language - I've taught Spanish in the...
  • From Tennessee - United States
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

to discover more about life

ABOUT ME

Hum... I am currently living in Acworth, GA with my husband, Angus the boxer, and our cat, Mija. I like having friends over and cooking for them. I also love to travel and am quite addicted to Guatemala. During the school year I teach Spanish at a local high school.

PHILOSOPHY

enjoy life and appreciate all I've learned and the gifts I've been given

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have stayed with others and offer my house as well.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've couchsurfed in Mexico, Guatemala, Ireland, France, and Italy. We've also hosted a few times. Our house is in the suburbs of Atlanta, so we don't get a lot of requests.

Interests

language - getting to know new people - cooking - making artsey things with cloth and fiber and paper and stuff - hanging out with my sons when they come home from college - hiking with my husband and Angus - talking and drinking wine with new friends and old ones - spending time in Guatemala

  • cats
  • cooking
  • wine
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • boxing
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

movies: El crimen de Padre Amaro, Motorcycle Diaries (I'm a huge fan of Gael Garcia Bernal)
music: Ricardo Arjona (another all time favorite), Sam Beam and Iron and Wine, Johnny Cash, Los Lonely Boys, Nancy Griffith, Melissa Ethridge, Alejandro Sanz, Reyli, Gente de la Zona
Books: She's Come Undone, To Kill a Mockingbird, all the Harry Potter books

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I was a Peace Corps Volunteer in Guatemala. I met my husband there -he was also a Volunteer.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: breadmaking - It's a relaxing skill that people should know how to do.

Learn: what it's like to be an ordinary person from your place of residence -

Share - about what it's like to be an ordinary person from the South in the U.S.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belize, France, India, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Peru, Spain, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Argentina, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Mexico, United States

Old School Badges

  • 2 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Debbie’s full profile.

My Groups