Artem Kushner's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 18% response rate
  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Artem’s full profile.

Overview

  • 17 references 17 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Russian; learning French
  • 24, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Research
  • UBC
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I have moved to Canada from Belarus about 7 years ago. Lived for a bit in Winnipeg, Halifax, Toronto, Montreal and Victoria. Have moved to Vancouver in 2018 to pursue a computer science degree. Used to plant trees for living.
🌴🦜🐒🌴🌴🏝
🌊 🌊 🌊🌊 🌊🌊🌊 🌊 🌊 🌊 🌊🌊🌊 🌊 🌊 🌊 🌊 🌊 🌊 🐬🌊 🌊 🌊 🌊 🌊 🌊 🌊 🌊 🌊 🌊🌊🌊

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

From Kurt Vonnegut: "An unexpected adventure is a dance lesson from God".
Going places and doing things on a whim almost always has been constructive and eye-opening for me. It's exciting to think about meeting new people this way too.
Also, people have saved me more than once when I needed a place to crash while getting around and i'd like to pass the favor on.

Interests

I'm quite passionate about people and all forms of communication, music especially. I used to be very very much into literature and psychology, but am pursuing information technologies and bioinformatics at this point in life.
Wanna sneak in at least one more huge backpacking adventure over Eurasia before 25 rolls about, hopefully.
I enjoy interesting conversation, adventures of any sort and think I'm pretty outdoorsy when given a chance :)

  • poetry
  • music
  • sports
  • economics
  • philosophy
  • nature
  • adventure
  • microbiology
  • conversation
  • organics
  • experiences
  • waste reduction
  • romance
  • aesthetics
  • hardware
  • semantics
  • cells
  • computational biology
  • human culture
  • paul desmond's sax part in calcutta blues
  • emergence
  • 🌌👨‍🚀🌠 🎠
  • synthetic bio
  • the cloud
  • senescence
  • distributed computation

Music, Movies, and Books

I listen to a lot of music that is coming out from London at this point whether it's broken-beat jazz or something EDM-y or something more experimental. Two artists that come to mind are Floating Points and Kara Lis-Coverdale. I listen to a lot of ambient music.
PTA and Tarkovsky are my favorite directors

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

3870 trees planted in 9.5 hours in interior British Columbia
Montreux Jazz Festival

Teach, Learn, Share

I am pretty passionate about all layers of the current technology stack, from hardware and compilers to web3 and programming in general. Same for biology. Would love to learn.

We can share our living room in the heart of Vancouver with a pretty view and friends on a good day.

What I Can Share with Hosts

-🌇🌆🌆🌉🌃🌆🌃🌃
-🎺🎹 🎷🎸
-🍹🎭
-❤️

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bulgaria, Canada, England, France, Germany, Italy, Lithuania, Romania, Russian Federation, Spain, Switzerland, Ukraine

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belarus, Canada, France, Russian Federation, Spain, Switzerland, Ukraine

Join Couchsurfing to see Artem’s full profile.