Andrew Westle's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 22 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Andrew’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 2 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Currently travelling the world before heading home to sta...
  • Monash University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To live the moment, creative and keep observing and treasuring the wacky, odd, different, queer and unique people, places and spaces


I can be loud I can be quiet. I love people and I love my solitude. I love the outdoors and the environment and I think as a planet and a group of people, we all need to wake up. I practice yoga but at the moment I should be doing more. I love music and see at least one theatre performance a week. I love my friends and I would drop anything to help them out.
I am very passionate about many issues and can be quite easy to stir up if you pick my issues and want to go for a ride.

I am a PhD student getting towards the end of my studies. I am researching Male dancers and issues around sexuality and masculinity. Hard to explain here in a few sentences when the thesis is 80000 words.


Still working on this- but it is based on ideas of going through life and serving others. I also don't take life too seriously or people but I take myself and my abilities very seriously, as with the rights of others.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I am a bit of a virgin with this. I have had plenty of people stay and likewise i have done the same but it has always been a through a who knows who basis.
visited 17 states (7.55%)Create your own visited map of The World


Where to start? I love anything outside (skiing, hiking, camping, swimming) I love the beach but equally like the mountains. I love theatre and the arts. I love cooking and can sew (and don’t mind cleaning)- so I could also fit in to the category of house wife. Love music, love dancing (although I may have to be seen through an interpretive framework- dance is the expression of the heart) love yoga (currently studying it), love summer, love the beach, love summer, love the snow, love the bush, love friends and love family.

  • birds
  • arts
  • performing arts
  • dancing
  • environment
  • cooking
  • yoga
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • camping
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • beaches
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

My music taste is quite eclectic.
On top of my list I would have to have Michael Franti and Spearhead (I love the man- last time I saw him he kissed me I almost died or orgasmed one or the other- maybe both).

Really any music with a beat- something types i dont like but a listen is ok.
At the moment i am not reading much for leisure but i do like a good book. I do love film and theatre and get in to lots of different things.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

It was cold it was windy and i was in the middle of a 1.5 month camping trip around Tasmania- just me and my car, tent and the rest. I was staying at St Clare National park, and decided to go for a walk around the lake and as i was on my way up this hill i saw this amazing sight two wedge tail eagles just hovering in the wind. They were about 50 meters away but they are a very rare sight in tasmania due to logging practices primarily. So i froze standing in this wind rain/sleet watching these birds. I sat down and got my camera out to take a photo. I stood up and they were gone i could no longer see these birds just like that- vanished until i looked up to see that one of them was hovering about 5 meters from my head. Its huge wing span and its head just turning in the wind checking me out. All up at one point it would have been 2 meters away. this lasted for 50 seconds then they were off. A truly profound human experience.

Teach, Learn, Share

I teach yoga,

What I Can Share with Hosts

I teach yoga, can cook, good at massage,

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Croatia, Fiji, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Serbia, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In


Join Couchsurfing to see Andrew’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups