Aaron Eger's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • 50% response rate
  • Last login about 8 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Aaron’s full profile.

Overview

  • 17 references 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Marine Biologist
  • Ongoing
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Spend as much time in and under the ocean as possible

ABOUT ME

I grew up in a small rural area of British Columbia, Canada. My parents have a hobby farm where they raise horses, llamas, pigs, turkeys, goats, rabbits, guinea pigs, peacocks, ducks, donkies, and anything else that flutters or trots

I spent the next 4 and a bit years in Montreal, Quebec studying environmental science at McGill University and badly practicing my french. I then headed back to my home coast in Victoria, BC for 2 years. I'm now starting my PhD in Sydney in marine conservation and am working to promote the conservation of our marine environments.

Life can be scary but we're all in this together and it gets a bit easier if we're a tiny bit kinder to one another.

I have a website that focuses on my research and my photography if you want a feel of my day to day (aaroneger.weebly.com)

So I have space to host but am a) usually tied up with work and b) the house has 6 people living in it and I have to get everyone on board to host. With that in mind, if you're looking for somewhere to crash, I'll need some heads up and some info about you I can share with the roomies

Or if you just want someone to explore with, I'm happy to get out and see Australia

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To have a more local experience while traveling and get off the beaten tourist track. Once I land a home with enough space to host people, I also love showing people around my home base and hearing stories from around the world.

Just a note and I'm truly flattered if you're considering it but I'm not looking to use CS as a dating app

Interests

My hobbies include scuba diving, photography, boating, soccer, basketball, drawing, kayaking, swimming, hiking, cooking, canoeing, and tree climbing; among other things.

  • animals
  • cooking
  • traveling
  • drawing
  • hiking
  • canoeing
  • kayaking
  • scuba diving
  • basketball
  • rock climbing
  • soccer
  • hockey
  • swimming
  • ecology
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Red Hot Chili Peppers, Cage the Elephant, Arctic Monkeys, Daft Punk, Avicii, Great Big Sea, General sea shanties, Beck, French Latino, Bedouin Soundclash

Movies: Lord of the Rings, Mr. Nobody, Moonrise Kingdom, Les Intouchables, Les Miserables

Books: East of Eden, Papillon, Shantaram, Welcome to the Monkey House, Golden Compass, Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, You're not so Smart, Birds Without Wings, Meditations

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Planning and carrying out my first field research program in Northern British Columbia was a long, consuming, and incredibly rewarding experience. It was also a great experience for me to explore my home territory a bit more.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can practically but not legally teach you how to SCUBA dive (but really if you have a ticket and want to go for a dive, I am happy to arrange). I have many thoughts on biology, science, and marine conservation if you're interested in learning about those sorts of things. I suppose I can "teach" you photography but I just kind of figured it out as I went, like most things in life.

Learn: I like to learn about why people travel and how where we've grown up has shaped how we view the world (i.e. cultural viewpoints)

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm told I make some delightful pancakes and can ask good questions, maybe we can go from there?

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Argentina, Barbados, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Croatia, Cuba, Ecuador, France, Greece, Honduras, Hong Kong, Iceland, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Montenegro, Nepal, Peru, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Aaron’s full profile.